
2022 RETIREE
OPEN ENROLLMENT BOOKLET

State of Montana Benefit Plan Open Enrollment

October 24 - November 6, 2021

For More Information 
benefits.mt.gov | benefitsquestions@mt.gov 
(800) 287-8266 | TTY (406) 444-1421

Complete Open Enrollment at benefits.mt.gov.
Open Enrollment is your annual opportunity to review benefit 

elections and change plans or covered dependents.

Action Required for 2022  
Annually You Must Self-Report Nicotine Use to Avoid Tobacco Surcharge

https://benefits.mt.gov/
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OPEN ENROLLMENT RESOURCES 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/open-enrollment for:

•	 Live Interactive Webinars
•	 10/20/21 at 3 pm 
•	 10/26/21 at 12 pm
•	 11/4/21 at 9 am

•	 On-Demand Open Enrollment Presentation

•	 Step-By-Step Instructions for How to Enroll

•	 Open Enrollment Resources

https://benefits.mt.gov/Resources/Open-Enrollment
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OPEN ENROLLMENT
Open Enrollment is your opportunity to make changes to your State Plan 
coverage. During the Open Enrollment Period, you can add/remove a spouse 
or domestic partner and/or add/remove a dependent child(ren) under age 26. 
You are required to submit verification of eligibility documentation to HCBD in 
order for the added dependent to be enrolled on State Plan benefits effective 
January 1, 2022.

CONTRIBUTIONS AND BENEFIT CHANGES

There are no changes to your State Plan contribution for dental and vision. 
However, both non-Medicare and Medicare retiree medical plan rates 
increased on average 4% to ensure the State Plan remains solvent based on 
risk and utilization. 

During Montana’s 67th Legislature , House Bill (HB) 291 was passed and 
put into law effective 01/01/22.  HB 291 requires the State Plan to provide 
coverage for amplification devices and related services for children 18 years of 
age or younger with hearing loss. 

The State Plan is currently engaged in a Request For Proposal (RFP) for its 
Dental plan and Life Insurance plan. Watch for more informaton coming soon. 

ACTION REQUIRED

•	 Must Elect or Re-Elect Vision Hardware Plan

•	 Must Self Report Nicotine Use

Annually you will need to complete your Open Enrollment election to provide 
the State Plan with information about you and your covered spouse/domestic 
partner’s nicotine use, see page five for details. If you do not complete your 
Open Enrollment election, you will automatically be charged the Tobacco 
Surcharge.

SURVIVOR BENEFITS 

Surviving spouses/domestic partners and dependent child(ren) of retirees that 
pass away may remain covered by the State Plan. 

OPEN ENROLLMENT OVERVIEW
October 24 - November 6, 2021
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MONTHLY BENEFIT COSTS
NON-MEDICARE (UNDER 65) RETIREE MEDICAL PLAN RATES 

Monthly 
Rate

Potential 
Live Life Well 

Incentive

Non-Medicare Retiree Only $1,281 up to $30 off

Non-Medicare Retiree  & Non-Medicare 
Spouse

$2,044 up to $60 off

Non-Medicare Retiree & Medicare Spouse $1,494 up to $60 off

Non-Medicare Retiree & Child(ren) $1,653 up to $30 off

Non-Medicare Retiree,  Non-Medicare 
Spouse & Child(ren)

$2,272 up to $60 off

Non-Medicare Retiree, Medicare Spouse & 
Child(ren)

$1,898 up to $60 off

MEDICARE (OVER 65) RETIREE MEDICAL PLAN RATES 
Monthly 

Rate
Potential 

Live Life Well 
Incentive

Medicare Retiree Only $466 up to $30 off

Medicare Retiree & Non-Medicare Spouse $1,259 up to $60 off

Medicare Retiree & Medicare Spouse $830 up to $60 off

Medicare Retiree & Child(ren) $779 up to $30 off

Medicare Retiree, Non-Medicare Spouse, & 
Child(ren)

$1,455 up to $60 off

Medicare Retiree, Medicare Spouse & 
Child(ren)

$972 up to $60 off

RETIREE DENTAL AND VISION HARDWARE PLAN RATES
Dental Vision Hardware

Retiree Only $41.10 $7.64

Retiree & Spouse $62.50 $14.42

Retiree & Children $61.00 $15.18

Retiree & Family $70.00 $22.26

BASIC LIFE INSURANCE
Non-Medicare (Under-65) Retirees must also pay $1.90/month for 
Basic Life InsuranceInsurance Coverage.
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TOBACCO SURCHARGE

The State of Montana Benefit Plan (State Plan) charges a Tobacco Surcharge 
for plan members who use nicotine. The surcharge adds $30 per month 
to the contribution amount for members who use nicotine and/or $30 per 
month if the member’s covered spouse/domestic partner uses nicotine.

DEFINITIONS

Nicotine  
•	 Nicotine is an addictive stimulant proven to have negative health effects 

that is found in cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, and most vaping 
products.  

Nicotine Free
•	 You are nicotine free if you have never used nicotine, have quit using 

nicotine, use only FDA-approved Nicotine Replacement Therapy (NRT), or 
infrequently use nicotine (less than 4x per month).

•	 You are nicotine free if you are currently using nicotine but have completed 
an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program or a nicotine counseling 
session with a medical provider) during the past 12 months.

Nicotine User
•	 You are a nicotine user if you are currently using nicotine and HAVE NOT 

completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program or a nicotine 
counseling session with a medical provider) during the past 12 months.

To avoid the $30 per month Tobacco Surcharge for 2022 
you need to annually self-attest your, and if applicable 
your covered spouse or domestic partner’s, nicotine use. 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/TobaccoSurcharge for more information.  

https://benefits.mt.gov/Resources/TobaccoSurcharge
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COMPLETING YOUR 2022 OPEN ENROLLMENT 
You will need to complete your Open Enrollment election to provide the 
State Plan with information about you and your covered spouse/domestic 
partner’s nicotine use, see page five for details. If you do not complete your 
Open Enrollment election, you will automatically be charged the Tobacco 
Surcharge.

You will also be receiving a Retiree Open Enrollment Election Form in the 
mail in the event you are unable to complete enrollment online.

In addition, the Vision Hardware Plan must be elected/re-elected each 
year. If you fail to re-elect the Vision Hardware Plan, coverage will terminate 
January 1, 2022.  

To access the enrollment 
system, go to
benefits.mt.gov. 

Click on the “Start Open 
Enrollment” button. 

If accessing outside of the 
State of Montana system, 
login using the prompts 
provided.

1 TO ACCESS

HOW TO COMPLETE
OPEN ENROLLMENT

Enroll in your benefits from your mobile 
device. Download the MyChoice Mobile 
App by searching MyChoice Mobile in 
your app store. 

To sync the MyChoice Mobile app you 
will need an access code which is 
available on the home page of the 
enrollment system.

OR

https://benefits.mt.gov/
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HOW TO COMPLETE
OPEN ENROLLMENT

2 LOGIN
Login using the prompts provided. 

First time users: Register your 
User Name and Password and 
answer a few security questions. 
The case-sensitive company key is 
stateofmontana. Login using your 
new User Name and Password.

Forgot your User Name or 
Password? Click on the link to reset 
your login details.

3 START YOUR ENROLLMENT
To begin Open Enrollment, click the 
“Start Here” button to review your 
personal information and add or edit 
any dependents you wish to enroll on 
State Plan coverage.
  
You will need to provide each 
dependent’s legal name, Social 
Security Number, and date of birth to 
add them to your coverage.*  
*You will be required to provide documentation 
to prove your relationship to each dependent.
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5 REVIEW AND FINALIZE YOUR ELECTIONS
Make sure your personal information, elections, dependents, and 
beneficiaries are accurate, then approve your elections. 

To finish, click “I Agree.” When your enrollment is complete, you will 
receive a confirmation number and can print your Benefit Summary for 
your records. 

HOW TO COMPLETE
OPEN ENROLLMENT

4 COMPLETE ENROLLMENT
Choose to re-enroll in your current plans, or 
use the “Next” and “Back” buttons to review 
and elect options available to you. 

Choose or decline coverage for each 
option, and select which family members 
you want to cover.

Visit this site anytime you want 
to learn more about your 
benefits or to change your 
coverage due to a qualifying 
life event. 
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The State Plan offers the incentive program to all plan members and their enrolled spouse/domestic partner.  If you think you may be unable to meet a 
standard of the incentive program, you may qualify for an alternative program or different means to earn the incentive. You must contact the Health Care & 
Benefits Division (HCBD) as soon as possible at 800-287-8266 or email livelifewell@mt.gov.  We will work with you (and if you wish, your doctor) to design a 
program with the same incentive that is right for you. 
We will maintain the privacy of your personally identifiable health information. Medical information that personally identifies you and that is provided 
through the incentive program will not be used to make decisions regarding your employment. Your health information shall only be disclosed to carry out 
specific activities related to the incentive program (such as responding to your request for a reasonable accommodation). You will not be asked or required 
to waive the confidentiality of your health information to participate or to receive an incentive. Anyone who receives your information for purposes of 
providing you services through the incentive program will abide by the same confidentiality requirements. 
We securely maintain all electronically stored medical information we obtain through the incentive program, and will take appropriate precautions to avoid 
a data breach. If a data breach does occur involving information you provided to us for the incentive program, we will notify you immediately.
A copy of the Plan’s privacy notice is available on the HCBD website or by going to benefits.mt.gov/_docs/Documents/hipaa-notice.pdf.    

2022 INCENTIVE
Earn $30 per month off your 2023 benefit contribution! Get 2X the 
incentive if a covered spouse/domestic partner also participates.

You must complete an Eligible Provider Visit as 
one of your three required activities between 
November 1, 2021 and October 31, 2022 to 
earn the Live Life Well Incentive in 2023.  

NEW!

ACTIVITIES CHECKLIST

Have a State-sponsored health screening.
Appointments are subject to availability.  
Make an appointment following the instructions 
at healthcenter.mt.gov or call (855) 200-6822.

HEALTH SCREENING 

NICOTINE FREE 

Self-report if you are nicotine free or have 
completed an eligible alternative at 
www.myactivehealth.com/som.
If you use nicotine and need an alternative to 
complete this portion of the incentive, you 
must self-report that you have completed one 
of two alternatives:
- A nicotine cessation program; or
- A nicotine education session with your 
   primary care provider.

ELIGIBLE PROVIDER VISIT

Self-report if you have completed an eligible 
visit with a provider at www.myactivehealth.
com/som by October 31, 2022.  

DON’T WAIT - DO IT NOW!
Complete your health screening earlier in 
the year to make sure it shows up during 
Open Enrollment.  Self-report any activity 
you’ve completed any time! 

SELF-REPORT OR CHECK YOUR 
INCENTIVE STATUS TODAY!

www.myactivehealth.com/som 

1.	 Log in, then click “Rewards.”  Your 
State-sponsored health screening 
is automatically uploaded into 
the site.  It will take a month to 
appear after you’ve completed your 
screening.  

2.	 Click “Nicotine Free” to self-report 
your Nicotine Free status or 
alternative. Make sure to click “Save.”

3.	 Click “Provider Visit” to self-report 
completion of your Eligible Provider 
Visit.   Make sure to click “Save.” 

4.	 Call (855) 206-1302 for help with the 
MyActiveHealth site.

5.	 Enjoy $30 off your contributions 
every month in 2023!  

For more information about Live Life 
Well Incentives or instructions for self-

reporting visit benefits.mt.gov/incentive.

mailto:https://benefits.mt.gov/_docs/Documents/hipaa-notice.pdf?subject=
https://benefits.mt.gov/Live-Life-Well/Incentive/
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LANGUAGE ASSISTANCE
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State of Montana complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws, state and local laws, 
rules, policies and executive orders and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, 
sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, political 
or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic information, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, age, disability, 
military service or veteran status or marital status.   

State of Montana does not exclude people or treat them differently because of race, color, 
sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, political 
or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic information, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, age, disability, 
military service or veteran status or marital status. State of Montana provides free aids and 
services to people with disabilities to communicate effectively with us, such as: qualified sign 
language interpreters and written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible 
electronic formats, other formats). State of Montana provides free language services to 
people whose primary language is not English such as: qualified interpreters and information 
written in other languages. 
If you need these services, contact customer service at 855-999-1062. If you believe that 
State of Montana has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the 
basis of  race, color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy 
or childbirth, political or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, 
genetic information, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, 
age, disability, military service or veteran status or marital status you can file a grievance. If 
you need help filing a grievance, John Pavao, State Diversity Coordinator, is available to help 
you. You can file a grievance in person or by mail, fax, or email: 

John Pavao, State Diversity Program Coordinator
Department of Administration
State Human Resources Division
125 N. Roberts
P.O. Box 200127
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 444-3984
Email: jpavao@mt.gov

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Office for Civil Rights, electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint 
Portal, available at ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, or by mail or phone at: 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue, SW 
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, D.C. 20201 
1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD)

NON-DISCRIMINATION LANGUAGE

mailto:jpavao%40mt.gov?subject=
http://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf,
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