2026 Legislator
Open Enroliment Booklet

State of Montana Benefit Plan
October 22 - November 8, 2025

Complete Open Enroliment at benefits.mt.gov.

Open Enroliment is your annual opportunity to review benefit
elections and change plans or covered dependents.

Action Required: Self-Report Nicotine Use to Avoid Tobacco Surcharge
The 2026 Tobacco Surcharge increases to $60 per month.

Scan the QR code for more Open Enroliment information, including (%
benefit presentations, booklets, and to complete Open Enroliment.
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Open Enrollment Action Required
Must Elect or Re-Elect Vision Hardware Plan
Must Report Nicotine Use

If you do not complete your Open Enroliment election, you will
automatically be charged the Tobacco Surcharge for 2026.

Visit benefits.mt.gov/open-enroliment for on-demand Open Enroliment
Presentations, Step-By-Step Instructions for How to Enroll, and
additional Open Enroliment resources.
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State Plan Overview

The State of Montana Benefit Plan (State Plan) is self-funded. This is different
than traditional insurance.

Traditional Insurance

With traditional insurance, members pay an insurance company a monthly
premium and if a member goes to a doctor or hospital the insurance company
pays some of the cost. The insurance company decides what's covered and
how much is paid out-of-pocket. They also accept financial risk if a member
has a serious health condition like cancer or a heart attack.

Self-Funded State Plan

State Plan coverage is funded by the State of Montana via the employer
contribution, by employees via their bi-weekly State Plan contribution, and by
legislators and retirees via their monthly contribution. The State Plan:

» Provides coverage in accordance with state and federal law

» Sets the monthly rates and out-of-pocket costs

+ Carries the liability for all 29,000 members

Third Party Administrators (TPAs) and Vendors

With 29,000 members state-wide, the State Plan partners with outside
companies to help it process claims and administer benefits, as well as relies
on their expertise and cost saving contracts.

Current TPAs:
» BlueCross BlueShield of Montana (BCBSMT) - Medical Benefits
» VSP Vision Care - Vision Benefits
» Delta Dental - Dental Benefits
» Navitus Health Solutions - Prescription Drug Benefits

Other Vendors:
» Premise Health operates the Montana Health Centers
» BCBSMT provides fully insured life and accidental death and
dismemberment insurance options.

Bottom Line

Because it's your money and taxpayer dollars that fund the State Plan, we all
have to work together to be good health care consumers. You can do that by:
» Reading information sent by the Health Care & Benefits Division (HCBD)
» Taking good care of your health by engaging in the Wellness Programs

* Visiting benefits.mt.gov on a regular basis
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State Plan Enrollment

Legislators/Employees who enroll in the State Plan must enroll in
Medical Benefits.

Medical Benefits Include:
* Medical coverage
* Prescription Drug coverage
* Basic Vision coverage ($10 copay for an annual eye exam per
member at an in-network VSP Vision Care provider)
* Basic Life Insurance ($14,000 of term life coverage)

Optional Benefits Include:

o Medical coverage for spouse/domestic partner or child(ren)

* Dental coverage

* Vision Hardware coverage

Additional life insurance for you and/or your spouse/domestic partner
and/or child(ren)

Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) coverage

Employer Contribution
The State contributes $1,080 per month per eligible employee to the State
of Montana Benefit Plan (State Plan).

Joint Core

If you and your spouse both work for the State (as an employee and/
or legislator) and have at least one dependent child who needs to be
enrolled on the State Plan, you can elect to be Joint Core. Your family
shares one family maximum out-of-pocket for medical expenses, one
family maximum out-of-pocket for prescription drug expenses, and your
bi-weekly contribution is less. To elect Joint Core, contact HCBD.

Benefit Identification Cards

If you enroll yourself and/or a dependent in a new benefit election
(medical, prescription drug, dental, vision) for 2026, you will receive
identification cards around January 1, 2026.

If you elect to continue an existing benefit election, your current ID card(s)
will remain valid in 2026 and you will not receive new ID cards. If you
need a replacement ID card, contact the vendor directly.
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Mid-year Benefit Change

Also known as a Special Enrollment Period. A period of time allowed by the
State Plan, other than the Initial Enroliment Period or an Open Enroliment
Period, during which an eligible employee, legislator, or retiree may
request or terminate coverage under the State Plan as a result of certain
events that create special enroliment rights.

If you wish to make a change to your State Plan benefits due to a Special
Enrollment Event (i.e. marriage, birth, divorce, gain/loss of coverage, etc.)
you must do so within 60 days of the date of the event (91 days if the event
is birth or adoption).

Waiving Coverage

If a you opt out/waive State Plan coverage you may be eligible to

receive reimbursement, up to $1,080 per month, for premiums paid in
conjunction with an Employer Group Health Plan or premiums paid for
certain types of disability and life insurance. The State Plan is restricted by
federal regulation from providing reimbursement for Medicare, Medicare
Supplement, Medicare Advantage, individual coverage through an
insurance carrier, or Health Insurance Marketplace premiums. Additionally,
reimbursement of any kind is not available if you enroll on the State

Plan. To opt out/waive State Plan coverage and receive the Option 2
reimbursement, complete the Legislator Opt Out/Waiver Form found at
benefits.mt.gov/forms.
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2026 Open Enroliment

Open Enrollment is your opportunity to make changes to your State Plan
coverage for 2026. During the Open Enrollment Period, you can add/remove a
spouse or domestic partner and/or add/remove a dependent child(ren) under
age 26.

If you add a dependent(s) during Open Enroliment, you are required to
submit dependent verification documentation to HCBD in order for the
dependent(s) to be enrolled on State Plan benefits effective January 1, 2026.

2026 Contributions and Benefit Changes

The passage of HB13 during Montana’s 69th legislative session, along with
the outcome of the 2024 union negotiations, secured important financial
changes to the State Plan that support its long-term financial stability.

These changes go into effect January 1, 2026:
o Employer Contribution increases to $1,080 for first time since 2017
o Legislator/Employee medical benefit contributions increase for first time
since 2016
« Live Life Well Incentive increases to $60 per month
¢ Tobacco Surcharge increases to $60 per month

The State Plan is currently negotiating with Montana facilities (hospitals) to
ensure the contributions collected from the State of Montana (employer
contribution/state share) and employees, legislators, and retirees are used
to maintain equitable and sustainable benefits, as well as cover the cost of
health care services for all State Plan members.

If some facilities choose not to negotiate fair rates, the State may need to
make adjustments to the medical benefit (deductibles, coinsurance, copay-
ments for office or urgent care visits, or the maximum out-of-pocket amount)
to help keep the plan affordable and sustainable without adjusting
contributions (the bi-weekly amount you pay for benefits from your paycheck).

If your medical benefit will change in 2026 you will receive a 60 day
notice from HCBD.
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Monthly Benefit Costs

Legislator Medical Plan rates are increasing for the first time since 2016.
The passage of HB13 during Montana’s 69th legislative session, along with
the outcome of the 2024 union negotiations, secured important financial
changes to the State Plan to support its long-term financial stability. The
charts below show what you will pay monthly.

Medical/Dental/Vision Hardware
Your out-of-pocket costs after the Employer Contribution is applied.

Vision Potential
Plans Medical* Dental Live Life Well
Hardware .
Incentive
Legislator Only $60.00 +$0.00 +$7.64 up to $60 off
Legislator & Spouse $318.00 +$21.40 |[+$14.42 up to $120 off
Legislator & Child(ren) | $134.00 +$19.90 [ +$15.18 up to $60 off
Legislator & Family $397.00 +$28.90 | +%$22.26 up to $120 off
Joint Core | $60.00 per | +$0.00 +$22.26 up to $60 off
Employee/ (Primary
Legislator Member Only)

*Medical includes: Medical, Prescription, Basic Vision ($10 copay for an annual eye
exam/member at an in-network VSP Vision Care provider) and Basic Life Insurance.

Life Insurance
Premiums withheld after tax

Plans Monthly Contributions
Legislator Supplemental Life (every $1,000 of coverage) x (Age Rate*)
AD&D Legislator Only $0.020 / $1,000 of coverage
AD&D Legislator Plus Dependent(s) $0.030/ $1,000 of coverage
Dependent Life Option A $0.44 per month
Dependent Life Option B $0.88 per month
Spouse Supplemental Life (every $1,000 of coverage) x (Age Rate*)

*Age Rates at benefits.mt.gov/life-rates

Paying for Coverage

When you are in session your contributions will be taken out of your bi-weekly
paycheck. Benefit contributions for medical, dental, and vision hardware will
be deducted pre-tax. If you cover a domestic partner and/or domestic partner
child(ren) contributions for these individuals will be withheld post-tax. When
you are not in session contributions will be electronically withheld monthly
from your checking or savings account.
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How to Complete Open Enrollment

You will need to complete your Open Enrollment election to provide the
State Plan with information about you and your covered spouse/domestic
partner’s nicotine use, go to page 12 for details. If you do not complete
your Open Enrollment election, you will automatically be charged the
Tobacco Surcharge of $60 per month - an increase from $30 in 2025.

In addition, the Vision Hardware Plan must be elected/re-elected each year.
If you fail to re-elect the Vision Hardware Plan that coverage will terminate
effective January 1, 2026.

You will also be receiving a Legislator Open Enroliment Election Form in the
mail as an alternative to completing your election(s) online. If completing the
printed election form, it must be returned to HCBD by November 8, 2025.
Only complete one Open Enrollment Election, either online, via a
mobile device, or by returning this form.

1 Access 0 CLICK HERE
= TO START

To access the enrollment : - . "¢ OPEN ENROLLMENT

system, go to =

benefits.mt.gov. ’ # % Oct. 22 - Nov. 8, 2025

State of Montana Benefit Plan

Click on the "Start Open Open Enroliment for 2026

Enroliment” button.

or
You can also enroll using the | mychoice mobile app X
MyChOICe® MObIIe App on Scan your personalized QR code to access the app
your smartphone or tablet. i o [T U -,

Mobile App. 2. Center the QR code on the phone screen and hold steady for a couple of

seconds.

Download the app through 3. Tap the notification that pops up on your phone to gain access to the app.
the GOOgle Play Store v ":'ii;'-a This QR code accesses your personal account. Do ot share with anyone.
for Android or the Apple e Do
App Store for iOS. Once Usean ccess Code instead

downloaded, log in to

benefits.mt.gov to receive
your access code.
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How to Complete Open Enrollment

2 Login Welcome

Login using the prompts provided. User Name
1

First time users: Register your User e sensitn

Name and Password and answer a few Password

security questions. 8
The case-sensitive company key is
stateofmontana. e

3 Start Enrollment

To begin Open Enrollment, click the
“Start Here” button to review your
personal information and add or edit
any dependents you wish to enroll on
State Plan coverage.

First Name: If you are adding Spouse Life

Midde Initial Insurance for the first time, you will
Last Name: need to add your spouse/domestic
Social security Your Family partner on the dependent page.*

Number:

Go

Do you have any dependents?

You will need to provide each
dependent’s legal name, Social
Security Number, and date of birth to
add them to your coverage.*™

Yes No

*Adding only Spouse Life Insurance does not require dependent verification
documentation.

**You will be required to provide documentation to prove your relationship to
each dependent.
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How to Complete Open Enrollment

4 Complete EnrO"ment Medical Election Summary
L

Choose to re-enroll in your current plans, Revieng]Election
or use the “Next” and “Back” buttons oroted i edicas o
to review and elect options available to ves
you.

Covered Dependents Edit
You will be able to compare your current e o
elections to prior year elections e Dt 04112020 *
throughout the enrollment process. Plan Selected oo |

Plan Selected Medical Plan
Choose or decline coverage for each Employee Cost son
available option, and select which family =~ e P o
members you want to cover.

5 Review and Finalize Your Elections

Make sure your personal information, elections, dependents, and
beneficiaries are accurate, then approve your elections.

To finish, click “I Agree.” When your enrollment is complete, you will receive a
confirmation number and can print your Benefit Summary for your records.

Thank You!
© Transaction Complete S incsenetsummary

Confirmation

don has besn submitc.
Confirmation Number

Thankvou
Thank you for enroling in your new hire benefits. To view your benefit elections at anytime throug

the year you can access your Benefits Summary under your name in the upper right hand corner.

If you have any questions, please chat with your personal benefits assistant, Sofia via the Live
Chat feature in the navigation bar at the top of your browser.

Visit benefits.mt.gov anytime
you want to learn more about

your benefits or to change your
coverage due to a qualifying life
event.

% | Disagree Total Employee Cost: $587.34

Monthly



2026 Legislator Open Enrollment 11
Proof of Dependent Eligibility Documentation

If you add a spouse/domestic partner or child(ren) to the State Plan, you
will be required to provide the following:

Dependent Child(ren)

e A copy of your child(rens) birth certificate(s), adoption order,
pre-adoption order; OR

e Acopy of a court-ordered parenting plan, custody agreement or
guardianship order.

Spouse

e A copy of your certified marriage certificate; or

e A copy of the front page of your tax return showing your tax filing
status as “married” (you may black out any financial information);
OR

e A copy of your recorded and notarized Affidavit of Common Law
Marriage (available at benefits.mt.gov/forms).

Domestic Partner

e Declaration of Domestic Partner Relationship and Affidavit of Shared
Residence form which includes two forms of proof of address
from each partner matching the address on the Affidavit of Shared
Residence form (available at benefits.mt.gov/forms);

e A copy of mutually-granted powers of attorney or health care powers
of attorney; OR

e A copy of mutual designations of primary beneficiary in wills, life
insurance policies or retirement plans.

Grandchild(ren)
e A copy of a grandchild’s adoption order or pre-adoption papers, a
court-ordered custody agreement or legal guardianship order.

Stepchild(ren)

e Required documentation listed above for Domestic Partner or
Spouse, if individual is not enrolled; AND

e A copy of your stepchild(rens) birth certificate(s), adoption order,
pre-adoption order, or guardianship order; OR

e Acopy of a court ordered parenting plan, custody agreement, or
guardianship.
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Tobacco Surcharge

The State Plan charges a Tobacco Surcharge for plan members who
use nicotine. The surcharge adds $60 per month to the contribution
amount for members who use nicotine and/or $60 per month if the
member’s covered spouse/domestic partner uses nicotine.

Please note: The Tobacco Surcharge is separate from the Live Life
Well (LLW) Incentive nicotine attestation. Indicating you are not a
nicotine user to earn the LLW Incentive does not remove the Tobacco
Surcharge, you must complete Open Enrollment to attest your nicotine
use for the Tobacco Surcharge.

Definitions

Nicotine

* Nicotine is an addictive stimulant proven to have negative health
effects that is found in cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, and most
vaping products.

Nicotine Free

* You are nicotine free if you have never used nicotine, have quit using
nicotine, use only FDA-approved Nicotine Replacement Therapy
(NRT), or infrequently use nicotine (less than 4x per month).

* You are nicotine free if you are currently using nicotine but have
completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program or a
nicotine counseling session with a medical provider) during the past
12 months.

Nicotine User

* You are a nicotine user if you are currently using nicotine and HAVE
NOT completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program
or a nicotine counseling session with a medical provider) during the
past 12 months.

To avoid the $60 per month Tobacco Surcharge you need to

annually self-attest your, and if applicable your covered spouse or
domestic partner’s, nicotine use.

Visit benefits.mt.gov/tobaccosurcharge for more information.
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Live Life Well Incentive

One of the Live Life Well Program's offerings is an opportunity to earn $60
off your monthly benefit contribution by completing three activities which
show a State Plan member is engaged with maintaining a healthy lifestyle.
This incentive is available to plan members and their enrolled spouse or
domestic partner.

Live Life Well Incentive
benefits.mt.gov/incentive
Earn $60 per month off your benefit contribtuion!

Live Life Well Incentive

To earn $60 per month off your 2026 monthly benefit contribution, you must
complete the following activities by October 31, 2025.

1. Complete a State-sponsored Health Screening through a Montana Health
Center or Montana Health Center off-site event.

2. Self-report Nicotine Free status or completion of an alternative.

3. Self-report an Eligible Provider Visit, which is an annual checkup with a
medical provider. Any kind of medical provider is acceptable, from a nurse
practitioner to a specialist, depending on who is most appropriate for your
health needs.

More information and instructions for how to self-report incentive activites are
available at benefits.mt.gov/incentive.

Live Live Well Incentive & Open Enroliment

If you complete the Live Life Well Incentive before October 1, 2025, the
Incentive credit will appear in the enrollment system when you complete Open
Enroliment.

If you complete your Incentive between October 1 through 31, 2025, you will
still receive the Incentive credit, however, it may not show when you complete
your Open Enroliment. It will show on your 2026 Open Enroliment Benefit
Summary.
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Non-Discrimination Statement

State of Montana complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws, state and local
laws, rules, policies and executive orders and does not discriminate on the basis
of race, color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy
or childbirth, political or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or
condition, genetic information, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression,
national origin, ancestry, age, disability, military service or veteran status or marital
status.

State of Montana does not exclude people or treat them differently because of race,
color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth,
political or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic
information, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry,
age, disability, military service or veteran status or marital status.

State of Montana provides free aids and services to people with disabilities to
communicate effectively with us, such as: qualified sign language interpreters and
written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats,
other formats). State of Montana provides free language services to people whose
primary language is not English such as: qualified interpreters and information written
in other languages. If you need these services, contact customer service at 855-999-
1062. If you believe that State of Montana has failed to provide these services or
discriminated in another way on the basis of race, color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or
medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, political or religious affiliation or
ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic information, sexual orientation,
gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, age, disability, military service
or veteran status or marital status you can file a grievance. If you need help filing

a grievance the State Diversity Coordinator is available to help you. You can file a
grievance in person or by mail, or email:

State Diversity Program Coordinator

Department of Administration, State Human Resources Division
125 N. Roberts

P.O. Box 200127

Helena, MT 59620

Phone: (406) 444-3871 or Email: SABHRSHR@mt.gov

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and

Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, electronically through the Office for Civil Rights
Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, or by mail or
phone at:

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW

Room 509F, HHH Building

Washington, D.C. 20201

1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD)
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HIPAA Notice & Lanaguage Assistance

State of Montana HIPPA Notice of Privacy Practices.

The State of Montana HIPAA Notice is available at benefits.mt.gov.

If you have any questions about your privacy rights, contact the State Plan at the
following address:

+ Contact Office or Person: Privacy Official

» Plan Name: State of Montana Benefit Plan

+ Telephone:(406) 444-7462 , (800) 287-8266; TTY 406) 444-1421

« Email: benefitsquestions@mt.gov

» Address: Health Care & Benefits Division, PO Box 200130, Helena, MT 59620-0130

Copies of the HIPAA Notice are also available at 125 N. Roberts St. Room 104, Helena,
MT 59601. You may request the Notice by calling the Health Care & Benefits Division or
sending a request by email to the above address.

Disclaimer

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) was enacted on March 23,
2010. The United States Departments of Health and Human Services, Labor, and
Treasury have issued regulations to help entities comply with PPACA. However,
additional clarifications to address issues that may arise under these regulations could
also be published by the Departments on an on-going manner through administrative
guidance possibly in another form than a regulation. Where the statutes or regulations
were not clear regarding benefits, the State of Montana made a reasonable
interpretation of the act and made a good faith effort to comply with the statutes and
regulations. The State of Montana reserves the right to alter provisions of this document
and its plan in order to comply with applicable law.

Language Assistance — General Taglines
State of Montana is required by federal law to provide the following information.

ATENCION: si habla espafiol, tiene a su disposicion servicios gratuitos de asistencia lingiiistica. Llame al 1-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711).

ACHTUNG: Wenn Sie Deutsch sprechen, stehen lhnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur Verfigung. Rufnummer:
1-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711).

AR MESRFEAEKRPX, BALABESIESEMRE. FHE 1-866-270-3877 (TTY : 711),
AREE: BABEEINDEHEE. BHOSEIXEZ CFAAW T E9,.1-866-270-3877 (TTY:711) ET.
PEBCTITERLES,

PAUNAWA: Kung nagsasalita ka ng Tagalog, maaari kang gumamit ng mga serbisyo ng tulong sa wika nang walang bayad. Tumawag sa
1-866-270-3877 {TTY: 711).

ATTENTION: Si vous parlez frangais, des services d'aide Iinguis-ti(.que vous sont proposés gratuitement. Appelez le 1-866-270-3877
(ATS : 711).

BHUMAHUE: Ecnu Bbl roBOPUTE Ha PYyCCKOM A3blKe, TO BamM OCTYMHbl HecrnaaTHble Ycayru nepeBoga. 3B0HUTe
1-866-270-3877 {teneTaitn: 711).

F9|: 70 E ALBOIAlE E 2, A0 X[/ MH|AE B2 2 0| 8314M 3= Q& LICE 1-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711)HC 2
Hstsl FH A2

B 3)) 7783-072-668-1 piss bl Olmally il 3155 dsgillh Buielnall o O Al 1S3l aons S 18] abgmde 117 (KILe ol
Bau:'y: faawaam naaadunsaldudnshamfananenlews T151-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711).
MERK: Hvis du snakker norsk, er gratis sprakassistansetjenester tilgjengelige for deg. Ring 1-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711).
CHU Y: Néu ban néi Tiéng Viét, c6 cac dich vu hd tre ngdn ngit mi&n phi danh cho ban. Goi sd 1-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711).

YBATAl fIKIWO BM PO3MOBAAETE YKPATHCLKOKD MOBOIO, BU MOMETE 3BEPHYTUCA A0 HE3KOLTOBHOI CAYKEM MOBHOT NIATPUMKHM.
TenedoHyiite 3a Homepom 1-866-270-3877 (Tenetain: 711).

Wann du [Deitsch {Pennsylvania German / Dutch)] schwetzscht, kannscht du mitaus Koschte ebber gricke, ass dihr helft mit die
englisch Schprooch. Ruf selli Nummer uff: Call 1-866-270-3877 (TTY: 711).

ATTENZIONE: In caso la lingua parlata sia I'italiano, sono disponibili servizi di assistenza linguistica gratuiti. Chiamare il numero
1-866-270-3877 {TTY: 711).
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