
 
Scan the QR code for more Open Enrollment information, including 
benefit presentations, booklets, and to complete Open Enrollment. 

Complete Open Enrollment at benefits.mt.gov.
Open Enrollment is your annual opportunity to review benefit 

elections and change plans or covered dependents.

Action Required: Self-Report Nicotine Use to Avoid Tobacco Surcharge
The 2026 Tobacco Surcharge increases to $60 per month. 

2026 Employee 
Open Enrollment Booklet

State of Montana Benefit Plan
October 22 - November 8, 2025
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Open Enrollment Action Required
Must Elect or Re-Elect Vision Hardware Plan

Must Elect or Re-Elect Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs)
Must Report Nicotine Use 

If you do not complete your Open Enrollment election, you will 
automatically be charged the Tobacco Surcharge for 2026.

Visit benefits.mt.gov/open-enrollment for on-demand Open Enrollment 
Presentations, Step-By-Step Instructions for How to Enroll, and 

additional Open Enrollment resources. 
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State Plan Overview
The State of Montana Benefit Plan (State Plan) is self-funded. This is different 
than traditional insurance.

Traditional Insurance
With traditional insurance, members pay an insurance company a monthly 
premium and if a member goes to a doctor or hospital the insurance company 
pays some of the cost. The insurance company decides what’s covered and 
how much is paid out-of-pocket. They also accept financial risk if a member has 
a serious health condition like cancer or a heart attack.  

Self-Funded State Plan
State Plan coverage is funded by the State of Montana via the employer 
contribution, by employees via their bi-weekly State Plan contribution, and by 
legislators and retirees via their monthly contribution. The State Plan:
•	 Provides coverage in accordance with state and federal law
•	 Sets the monthly rates and out-of-pocket costs
•	 Carries the liability for all 29,000 members

Third Party Administrators (TPAs) and Vendors 
With 29,000 members state-wide, the State Plan partners with outside 
companies to help it process claims and administer benefits, as well as relies 
on their expertise and cost saving contracts. 
Current TPAs:
•	 BlueCross BlueShield of Montana (BCBSMT) - Medical Benefits
•	 VSP Vision Care - Vision Benefits
•	 Delta Dental - Dental Benefits
•	 Navitus Health Solutions - Prescription Drug Benefits
•	 ASIFlex - Medical and Dependent Care Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs)

Other Vendors:
•	 Premise Health operates the Montana Health Centers
•	 BCBSMT provides fully insured life and accidental death and 

dismemberment insurance options, as well as long term disability insurance.

Bottom Line
Because it’s your money and taxpayer dollars that fund the State Plan, we all 
have to work together to be good health care consumers. You can do that by:
•	 Reading information sent by the Health Care & Benefits Division (HCBD) 
•	 Taking good care of your health by engaging in the Wellness Programs
•	 Visiting benefits.mt.gov on a regular basis
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Employees who enroll in the State Plan must enroll in Medical Benefits. 
Medical Benefits Include:

•	 Medical coverage
•	 Prescription Drug coverage
•	 Basic Vision coverage ($10 copay for an annual eye exam per member at 

an in-network VSP Vision Care provider)
•	 Basic Life Insurance ($14,000 of term life coverage)

Optional Benefits Include: 
•	 Medical coverage for spouse/domestic partner or child(ren)
•	 Dental coverage
•	 Vision Hardware coverage
•	 Additional life insurance for you and/or your spouse/domestic partner and/

or child(ren)
•	 Long-Term Disability (LTD) coverage
•	 Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) coverage
•	 Flexible Spending Accounts for medical expenses and/or dependent care 

(daycare) expenses

Employer Contribution 
The State contributes $1,080 per month per eligible employee to the State of 
Montana Benefit Plan (State Plan). 

Joint Core 
If you and your spouse both work for the State (as an employee and/or 
legislator) and have at least one dependent child who needs to be enrolled on 
the State Plan, you can elect to be Joint Core. Your family shares one family 
maximum out-of-pocket for medical expenses, one family maximum out-of-
pocket for prescription drug expenses, and your bi-weekly contribution is less. 
To elect Joint Core, contact HCBD.

Paying for Coverage
The State of Montana employer contribution may not cover all of your benefit 
costs. Any extra cost is automatically deducted from your bi-weekly paycheck.  

Tax Information 
Most of your benefit contributions are deducted pretax out of your paycheck 
with the exception of the following:
•	 Life insurance coverage for yourself and your dependent(s)
•	 Long Term Disability (LTD) insurance coverage
•	 Non-tax dependent coverage (i.e. domestic partner and/or domestic 

partner child(ren))

State Plan Enrollment



Benefit Identification Cards 
If you enroll yourself and/or a dependent in a new benefit election (medical, 
prescription drug, dental, vision) for 2026, you will receive identification 
cards around January 1, 2026. 

If you elect to continue an existing benefit election, your current ID card(s) 
will remain valid in 2026 and you will not receive new ID cards. If you need 
a replacement ID card, contact the vendor directly. 

Mid-year Benefit Change
Also known as a Special Enrollment Period. A period of time allowed by the 
State Plan, other than the Initial Enrollment Period or an Open Enrollment 
Period, during which an eligible employee, legislator, or retiree may 
request or terminate coverage under the State Plan as a result of certain 
events that create special enrollment rights. 

If you wish to make a change to your State Plan benefits due to a Special 
Enrollment Event (i.e. marriage, birth, divorce, gain/loss of coverage, etc.) 
you must do so within 60 days of the date of the event (91 days if the event 
is birth or adoption).

52026 Employee Open Enrollment
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2026 Open Enrollment
Open Enrollment is your opportunity to make changes to your State Plan 
coverage for 2026. During the Open Enrollment Period, you can add/remove a 
spouse or domestic partner and/or add/remove a dependent child(ren) under 
age 26.

If you add a dependent(s) during Open Enrollment, you are required to 
submit dependent verification documentation to HCBD in order for the 
dependent(s) to be enrolled on State Plan benefits effective January 1, 2026. 

2026 Contributions and Benefit Changes
The passage of HB13 during Montana’s 69th legislative session, along with 
the outcome of the 2024 union negotiations, secured important financial 
changes to the State Plan that support its long-term financial stability. 
These changes go into effect January 1, 2026:

•	 Employer Contributions increase to $1,080 for first time since 2017
•	 Employee medical benefit contributions increase for first time since 2016 
•	 Live Life Well Incentive increases to $60 per month 
•	 Tobacco Surcharge increases to $60 per month 

Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs) will also be changing effective January 1, 
2026.

•	 Medical FSA: Annual maximum contribution for Plan Year 2026 is $3,300 
and $660 of unused contributions at the end of Plan Year 2025 will be 
allowed to rollover to Plan Year 2026. 

•	 Dependent Care (Day Care) FSA: Annual maximum contribution for Plan 
Year 2026 per household is $7,500 ($3,750 if married filing 

      separately). Unused funds will be forfeited at the end of the Plan Year. 
      Rollover is not allowed.

The State Plan is currently negotiating with Montana facilities (hospitals) to 
ensure the contributions collected from the State of Montana (employer 
contribution/state share) and employees, legislators, and retirees are used to 
maintain equitable and sustainable benefits, as well as cover the cost of health 
care services for all State Plan members. 

If some facilities choose not to negotiate fair rates, the State may need to 
make adjustments to the medical benefit (deductibles, coinsurance, 
copayments for office or urgent care visits, or the maximum out-of-pocket 
amount) to help keep the plan affordable and sustainable without adjusting 
contributions (the bi-weekly amount you pay for benefits from your paycheck).  

If your medical benefit will change in 2026 you will receive a 60 day 
notice from HCBD and you will be afforded the opportunity to adjust 
your Medical FSA contribution.
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Monthly Benefit Costs

Plans Medical* Dental Vision 
Hardware

Potential 
Live Life Well 

Incentive
Employee Only $60.00 +$0.00 +$7.64 up to $60 off

Employee & Spouse $318.00 +$21.40 +$14.42 up to $120 off
Employee & Child(ren) $134.00 +$19.90 +$15.18 up to $60 off
Employee & Family $397.00 +$28.90 +$22.26 up to $120 off

Joint Core $60.00 per 
Employee/
Legislator

+$0.00 +$22.26
(Primary 
Member Only)

up to $60 off

*Medical includes: Medical, Prescription, Basic Vision ($10 copay for an annual eye 
exam/member at an in-network VSP Vision Care provider) and Basic Life Insurance.

Life Insurance
Premiums withheld after tax

 Plans Monthly Contributions
Employee Supplemental Life (every $1,000 of coverage) x (Age Rate*)

AD&D Employee Only $0.020 / $1,000 of coverage
AD&D Employee Plus Dependent(s) $0.030 / $1,000 of coverage
Dependent Life Option A $0.44 per month
Dependent Life Option B $0.88 per month
Spouse Supplemental Life (every $1,000 of coverage) x (Age Rate*)

*Age Rates at benefits.mt.gov/life-rates 

Long Term Disability
$8.46/member per month after tax for active employees only.

Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA) 
FSA contribution limits are set annually by the IRS in accordance with federal 
regulations and are not determined at the state level. The bullet points below 
show what you will pay monthly.

•	 $2.16 per month fee
•	 Medical FSA: $120 - $3,300 per employee per year with limited rollover*
•	 Dependent Care (Daycare) FSA: $120 - $7,500 per household per year 

($3,750 if married filing seperately) with no rollover*

*Visit benefits.mt.gov/flexible-spending-acounts for details.

Employee Medical Plan rates are increasing for the first time since 2016.
The passage of HB13 during Montana’s 69th legislative session, along with 
the outcome of the 2024 union negotiations, secured important financial 
changes to the State Plan to support its long-term financial stability.

Medical/Dental/Vision Hardware
Your out-of-pocket costs after the Employer Contribution is applied.
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How to Complete Open Enrollment

You will need to complete your Open Enrollment election to provide the 
State Plan with information about you and your covered spouse/domestic 
partner’s nicotine use, go to page 12 for details. If you do not complete 
your Open Enrollment election, you will automatically be charged the 
Tobacco Surcharge of $60 per month - an increase from $30 in 2025.

In addition, the Vision Hardware Plan and Flexible Spending Accounts must 
be elected/re-elected each year. If you fail to re-elect the Vision Hardware 
Plan or Flexible Spending Accounts, that coverage will terminate effective 
January 1, 2026.  

To access the enrollment 
system, go to
benefits.mt.gov. 

Click on the “Start Open 
Enrollment” button. 

1Access

or
You can also enroll using the 
MyChoice® Mobile App on 
your smartphone or tablet. 

Download the app through 
the Google Play Store 
for Android or the Apple 
App Store for iOS. Once 
downloaded, log in to 
benefits.mt.gov to receive 
your access code.
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How to Complete Open Enrollment

2 Login
If accessing the website on the State of Montana network, you will
automatically enter the system and not be required to register.

Department of Justice employees will need to login using their C# and 
computer password.  

Department of Military Affairs employees will need to access the enrollment 
system off the state network, meaning they will need to create their own 
User Name and Password

If accessing outside of the State of 
Montana network, login using the 
prompts provided. 

First time users: Register your User 
Name and Password and answer a few 
security questions.

The case-sensitive company key is 
stateofmontana. 

3Start Enrollment
To begin Open Enrollment, click the 
“Start Here” button to review your 
personal information and add or edit 
any dependents you wish to enroll on 
State Plan coverage.
  
If you are adding Spouse Life 
Insurance for the first time, you will 
need to add your spouse/domestic 
partner on the dependent page.*

You will need to provide each 
dependent’s legal name, Social 
Security Number, and date of birth to 
add them to your coverage.**  

*Adding only Spouse Life Insurance does not require dependent verification documentation.

**You will be required to provide documentation to prove your relationship to each dependent.
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How to Complete Open Enrollment

5 Review and Finalize Your Elections
Make sure your personal information, elections, dependents, and 
beneficiaries are accurate, then approve your elections. 

To finish, click “I Agree.” When your enrollment is complete, you will receive a 
confirmation number and can print your Benefit Summary for your records. 

4 Complete Enrollment
Choose to re-enroll in your current plans, 
or use the “Next” and “Back” buttons 
to review and elect options available to 
you. 

You will be able to compare your current 
elections to prior year elections 
throughout the enrollment process. 

Choose or decline coverage for each 
available option, and select which family 
members you want to cover.

Visit benefits.mt.gov anytime 
you want to learn more about 
your benefits or to change your 
coverage due to a qualifying life 
event. 
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Proof of Dependent Eligibility Documentation

If you add a spouse/domestic partner or child(ren) to the State Plan, you 
will be required to provide the following:

Dependent Child(ren)
•	 A copy of your child(rens) birth certificate(s), adoption order, 

pre-adoption order; OR
•	 A copy of a court-ordered parenting plan, custody agreement or 

guardianship order.

Spouse
•	 A copy of your certified marriage certificate; or
•	 A copy of the front page of your tax return showing your tax filing 

status as “married” (you may black out any financial information); 
OR

•	 A copy of your recorded and notarized Affidavit of Common Law 
Marriage (available at benefits.mt.gov/forms).

Domestic Partner
•	 Declaration of Domestic Partner Relationship and Affidavit of Shared 

Residence form which includes two forms of proof of address 
from each partner matching the address on the Affidavit of Shared       
Residence form (available at benefits.mt.gov/forms);

•	 A copy of mutually-granted powers of attorney or health care powers 
of attorney; OR

•	 A copy of mutual designations of primary beneficiary in wills, life 
insurance policies or retirement plans.

Grandchild(ren)
•	 A copy of a grandchild’s adoption order or pre-adoption papers, a 

court-ordered custody agreement or legal guardianship order.

Stepchild(ren)
•	 Required documentation listed above for Domestic Partner or 

Spouse, if individual is not enrolled; AND
•	 A copy of your stepchild(rens) birth certificate(s), adoption order, 

pre-adoption order, or guardianship order; OR
•	 A copy of a court ordered parenting plan, custody agreement, or 

guardianship. 
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Tobacco Surcharge

The State Plan charges a Tobacco Surcharge for plan members who 
use nicotine. The surcharge adds $60 per month to the contribution 
amount for members who use nicotine and/or $60 per month if the 
member’s covered spouse/domestic partner uses nicotine.

Please note: The Tobacco Surcharge is separate from the Live Life 
Well (LLW) Incentive nicotine attestation. Indicating you are not a 
nicotine user to earn the LLW Incentive does not remove the Tobacco 
Surcharge, you must complete Open Enrollment to attest your nicotine 
use for the Tobacco Surcharge.

Definitions

Nicotine  
•	 Nicotine is an addictive stimulant proven to have negative health 

effects that is found in cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, and most 
vaping products.  

Nicotine Free
•	 You are nicotine free if you have never used nicotine, have quit using 

nicotine, use only FDA-approved Nicotine Replacement Therapy 
(NRT), or infrequently use nicotine (less than 4x per month).

•	 You are nicotine free if you are currently using nicotine but have 
completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program or a 
nicotine counseling session with a medical provider) during the past 
12 months.

Nicotine User
•	 You are a nicotine user if you are currently using nicotine and HAVE 

NOT completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program 
or a nicotine counseling session with a medical provider) during the 
past 12 months.

To avoid the $60 per month Tobacco Surcharge you need to 
annually self-attest your, and if applicable your covered spouse or 
domestic partner’s, nicotine use. 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/tobaccosurcharge for more information.  
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Live Life Well Incentive  
One of the Live Life Well Program's offerings is an opportunity to earn $60 
off your monthly benefit contribution by completing three activities which 
show a State Plan member is engaged with maintaining a healthy lifestyle. 
This incentive is available to plan members and their enrolled spouse or 
domestic partner. 

Live Life Well Incentive
To earn $60 per month off your 2026 monthly benefit contribution, you must 
complete the following activities by October 31, 2025. 

1.	Complete a State-sponsored Health Screening through a Montana Health 
Center or Montana Health Center off-site event. 

2.	Self-report Nicotine Free status or completion of an alternative. 
3.	Self-report an Eligible Provider Visit, which is an annual checkup with a 

medical provider. Any kind of medical provider is acceptable, from a nurse 
practitioner to a specialist, depending on who is most appropriate for your 
health needs. 

More information and instructions for how to self-report incentive activites are 
available at benefits.mt.gov/incentive. 

Live Live Well Incentive & Open Enrollment
If you complete the Live Life Well Incentive before October 1, 2025, the 
Incentive credit will appear in the enrollment system when you complete Open 
Enrollment. 

If you complete your Incentive between October 1 through 31, 2025, you will 
still receive the Incentive credit, however, it may not show when you complete 
your Open Enrollment. It will show on your 2026 Open Enrollment Benefit 
Summary. 

Live Life Well Incentive
benefits.mt.gov/incentive

Earn $60 per month off your benefit contribtuion!
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State of Montana complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws, state and local 
laws, rules, policies and executive orders and does not discriminate on the basis 
of race, color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy 
or childbirth, political or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or 
condition, genetic information, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, 
national origin, ancestry, age, disability, military service or veteran status or marital 
status.

State of Montana does not exclude people or treat them differently because of race, 
color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, 
political or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic 
information, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, 
age, disability, military service or veteran status or marital status.  

State of Montana provides free aids and services to people with disabilities to 
communicate effectively with us, such as: qualified sign language interpreters and 
written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, 
other formats). State of Montana provides free language services to people whose 
primary language is not English such as: qualified interpreters and information written 
in other languages. If you need these services, contact customer service at 855-999-
1062. If you believe that State of Montana has failed to provide these services or 
discriminated in another way on the basis of  race, color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or 
medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, political or religious affiliation or 
ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic information, sexual orientation, 
gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, age, disability, military service 
or veteran status or marital status you can file a grievance. If you need help filing 
a grievance the State Diversity Coordinator is available to help you. You can file a 
grievance in person or by mail, or email: 

State Diversity Program Coordinator
Department of Administration, State Human Resources Division
125 N. Roberts
P.O. Box 200127
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 444-3871 or Email: SABHRSHR@mt.gov

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, electronically through the Office for Civil Rights 
Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, or by mail or 
phone at: 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue, SW 
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, D.C. 20201 
1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD)

Non-Discrimination Statement
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State of Montana HIPPA Notice of Privacy Practices.
The State of Montana HIPAA Notice is available at benefits.mt.gov.
If you have any questions about your privacy rights, contact the State Plan at the 
following address:
•	 Contact Office or Person: Privacy Official      
•	 Plan Name: State of Montana Benefit Plan
•	 Telephone:(406) 444-7462 , (800) 287-8266; TTY 406) 444-1421
•	 Email: benefitsquestions@mt.gov
•	 Address: Health Care & Benefits Division, PO Box 200130, Helena, MT 59620-0130         

Copies of the HIPAA Notice are also available at 125 N. Roberts St. Room 104, Helena, 
MT 59601. You may request the Notice by calling the Health Care & Benefits Division or 
sending a request by email to the above address.  
Disclaimer
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) was enacted on March 23, 
2010. The United States Departments of Health and Human Services, Labor, and 
Treasury have issued regulations to help entities comply with PPACA. However, 
additional clarifications to address issues that may arise under these regulations could 
also be published by the Departments on an on-going manner through administrative 
guidance possibly in another form than a regulation.  Where the statutes or regulations 
were not clear regarding benefits, the State of Montana made a reasonable 
interpretation of the act and made a good faith effort to comply with the statutes and 
regulations. The State of Montana reserves the right to alter provisions of this document 
and its plan in order to comply with applicable law.

HIPAA Notice & Lanaguage Assistance
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