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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Eligibility for State Plan Coverage

Pursuant to 2-18-704, MCA, suriving spouse and dependent children 
may remain covered by the State Plan as follows:

1.	 The surviving spouse of a Participant or Retiree may remain a 
Covered Person of the Plan as long as the spouse is eligible for 
retirement benefits accrued by the deceased Participant or Retiree 
as provided by law unless the spouse is eligible for Medicare under 
the federal Health Insurance for Aged Act or unless the spouse has 
or is eligible to participate in another group plan with substantially 
the same or greater benefits at an equivalent cost.

2.	 The surviving children of a Participant may remain Covered 
Persons of the Plan as long as they are eligible for retirement 
benefits accrued by the deceased Participant as provided by 
law unless they have equivalent coverage with substantially the 
same or greater benefits at an equivalent cost or are eligible for 
insurance coverage by virtue of the employment of a surviving 
parent or legal guardian. 

Eligiblity Upon a Retiree’s Death 

Surviving spouses/domestic partners and dependent child(ren) of 
retirees that pass away may remain covered by the State Plan. 

Eligibility for Survivor Benefits

https://benefits.mt.gov/
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The following chart gives you an outline of your State Plan coverage 
options:
 

Surviving Dependents
Medical/Prescription If previously enrolled

Dental If previously enrolled

Vision Hardware If previously enrolled

Changes to the coverage listed above can be made during  
a Special Enrollment Period or the annual Open Enrollment Period. 

See Benefit Term Decoder on pages 22 and 23 for further information. 

How to Continue Coverage on the State Plan:

Complete the necessary forms and return them with payment to 
HCBD, PO Box 200130, Helena MT 59620-0130 within 60 days of 
the date of death of the primary plan member. 

•	Surviving Spouse/Dependent(s) Election Form: Complete this 
form by circling the coverage you wish to continue and the 
dependent(s) you wish to cover. 

•	Electronic Benefits Payment Deduction Authorization Form: 
Complete this form to have your monthly payments withheld 
electronically from your checking or savings account (occurs on 
the 5th of every month). 

Your coverage will begin retroactive to the day your Active/Retiree 
coverage ended, as soon as the required forms and payment are 
received.

If you do not complete and return the required forms and submit 
payment within 60 days of the date of death of the primary plan 
member, your State Plan coverage will be terminated and will not 
be able to be reinstated.

Survivor Benefits & Electing Coverage
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Alternative Coverage Options
If you are not eligible for Medicare, you may be able to get coverage 
through the Health Insurance Marketplace that costs less than State of 
Montana Survivor coverage.  

Health Insurance Marketplace 
The Marketplace offers “one-stop shopping” to find and compare 
most private health insurance options. You can access the Montana 
Marketplace at healthcare.gov. 
•	 You might be eligible for a tax credit that lowers your monthly 

premiums and offers cost-sharing reductions.
•	 You can see what your premium, deductibles, and out-of-pocket 

costs will be before you make a decision to enroll.
•	 You can learn if you qualify for free or low-cost coverage from 

Medicaid. 
Being offered State Plan Survivor coverage won’t limit your eligibility 
for coverage or for a possible tax credit through the Health Insurance 
Marketplace. However, you must dis-enroll from the State Plan before 
you begin to receive premium tax credits. You should consult with an 
insurance professional about this process. 

Contact an Expert for Free 
Insurance professionals available to assist with alternative coverage 
options include: 
•	 Certified Insurance Agents or Certified Exchange Producers (CEPs) 

are registered Montana Insurance Agents who have taken special 
training to understand the Health Insurance Marketplace. CEPs are 
found throughout the state.

•	 Certified Application Counselors (CACs) are health care provider 
staff who have been trained to help people understand, apply for 
and enroll in insurance coverage through the Health Insurance 
Marketplace. You will find these individuals in hospitals and 
community health centers throughout the state.

•	 Navigators are public advisors who help people compare the health 
insurance options on the Health Insurance Marketplace website. 
Navigators have taken Federal and State training and have been 
fingerprinted and undergone a Montana background check. 

Note: You should consult only with insurance professionals who 
are certified by the Montana Insurance Commissioner.   
A list of these experts canbe found at:  
montanahealthanswers.com/talk-to-a-human or call the Office of the 
Commissioner of Securities and Insurance at (800) 332-6148.

https://benefits.mt.gov/
https://www.healthcare.gov/
https://montanahealthanswers.com/talk-to-a-human/


6 Benefit Costs

Survivor Medical Plan Rates
Monthly Rate Potential Live Life Well 

Incentive
Survivor Only $1,281 up to $30 off
Survivor & Children $1,653 up to $30 off

Survivor Medicare Plan Rates
Monthly Rate Potential Live Life Well 

Incentive
Survivor Only $466 up to $30 off
Survivor & Children $779 up to $30 off

Survivor Dental and Vision Hardware Plan Rates
Dental Vision Hardware

Survivor Only $41.10 $7.64
Survivor & Children $61.00 $15.18

You must return the Survivor Election Form and your first months 
payment within 60 days of the participant or retiree date of death. Your 
Survivor coverage will be re-instated retroactive to when your Active/
Retiree coverage ended once your forms and payment are received. 

Electronic Deduction of Benefit Contributions from a Checking or 
Savings Account 
Benefit contributions are deducted from your designated account on 
the 5th of each month. If the 5th falls on a Saturday, payment will be 
withheld on Friday the 4th. If the 5th falls on a Sunday, payment will be 
withheld on Monday the 6th.  
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Medical Plan
In addition to medical benefits, the Medical Plan includes:
•	 One routine eye exam covered per Plan Member per Plan Year with 

a $10 copay at a participating provider
•	 Prescription drug coverage
•	 Non-Medicare Retirees - use of all Montana Health Centers at no 

cost (see page 16)
•	 Medicare Retirees - use of Montana Health Centers ONLY for 

flu shots, COVID-19 vaccinations, and State-sponsored health 
screenings (see page 16) 

Third Party Administrator (TPA)
Allegiance Benefit Plan Management processes medical claims for the 
State Plan. Remember, it’s the State that decides rates, out-of-pocket 
costs, and coverages. 

Questions

Eligibility
For detailed information on who’s eligible for the State Plan, please refer 
to the Wrap Plan Document available at benefits.mt.gov. 

Healthcare Bluebook - Available to All Plan Members
An online and mobile resource that quickly helps you to find cost and 
quality comparison information by ranking facilities in an easy-to-read 
color system. Logon to askallegiance.com/som and click “Healthcare 
Bluebook” on the right hand side of the screen. 

1-800-287-8266
benefits.mt.gov

•	 Eligibility-Who’s Covered
•	 Mid-year Changes
•	 Open Enrollment 
•	 Benefit Contributions
•	 Live Life Well Incentive

1-855-999-1057
askallegiance.com/som

•	 Claims/Billing
•	 Participating Providers
•	 Online Account Information
•	 What’s Covered
•	 Pre-Certification/Pre-

Treatment Review
•	 Case Management
•	 Appeals 

https://benefits.mt.gov/
http://www.benefits.mt.gov
http://www.askallegiance.com/som
https://askallegiance.com/som/
http://www.benefits.mt.gov
http://www.askallegiance.com/som 
https://benefits.mt.gov/
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Cost Sharing for Participating and In-State Non-Participating*

Montana Health Center $0 Copay
Primary Care Office Visit $25 Copay
Specialist Office Visit $35 Copay
Urgent Care Office Visit $35 Copay
Deductible (Counts towards Max 
Out-of-Pocket) $1,000 per member per Plan Year 

Benefit  % (What the plan pays after 
you meet your deductible. Counts 
towards Max Out-of-Pocket.)

75% after deductible is met
100% after Max Out-of-Pocket is 

met
Max Out-of-Pocket $4,000/member $8,000/family

Participating Provider
Participating providers and facilities have contracted with Allegiance 
in Montana and Cigna outside of Montana to charge a low, fair rate 
for your care. 
All deductibles and maximums will be based upon a Plan Year, which 
is January 1 through December 31. 

Transparent Pricing
Providers and medical facilities are either participating or non-participating.

Check Your Provider/Facility Before You Go!
askallegiance.com/som or (855) 999-1057

Allegiance participating inside Montana.
Cigna participating outside Montana.

*In-State Non-Participating
In-state non-participating providers and facilities have chosen not to sign 
a contract with Allegiance. If you use a non-participating facility or provider 
in Montana, you pay the cost sharing shown above and the State Plan will 
pay a fair rate for your care, but the non-participating provider may balance 
bill you for more. You are responsible for this balance bill and it does not 
count towards your Deductible or Max Out-of-Pocket.

Medical Plan Cost Sharing

http://www.askallegiance.com/som
https://askallegiance.com/som/
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Annual Deductible (Counts 
towards Max Out-of-Pocket) 

$1,500 per member per Plan Year 
(This is separate from the $1,000 
deductible on page 8.)

Benefit % (What the plan pays 
after you meet your deductible.) 
Balance billing does not count 
towards Max Out-of-Pocket.)

65% + balance billing

Max Out-of-Pocket $4,950/member + balance billing
$10,900/family + balance billing
(These are separate from annual Max 
Out-of-Pocket shown on page 8.)

Out-of-State Non-Participating
If you go out-of-state and use a non-Cigna provider/facility, the cost 
sharing is as follows: 

Cost Sharing for Out-of-State Non-Participating
Applies to all services unless stated otherwise in the Wrap Plan 
Document, which can be found at benefits.mt.gov.

Non-Participating Provider Benefit Exception 
When a covered service is rendered by a Non-Participating Provider, 
charges will be paid as if the service were rendered by a Participating 
Provider under any of the following circumstances:

1.	 Charges for an emergency, as defined by the State Plan, limited to 
only emergency medical procedures necessary to treat and stabilize 
an eligible injury or illness and then only to the extent that the same 
are necessary for the member to be transported, at the earliest 
medically appropriate time to a participating hospital, clinic, or other 
facility, or discharged.

2.	 Charges incurred as a result of and related to confinement in or 
use of a participating hospital, clinic, or other facility only for non-
participating provider services and providers over whom or which 
the member does not have any choice in or ability to select.

3.	 Charges for emergency use of an air ambulance. 

For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan Document 
(WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

https://benefits.mt.gov/Resources/Publications
http://www.benefits.mt.gov


10 Prescription Drug Plan
Navitus Health Solutions processes pharmacy claims for the State Plan. 
Watch the mail for your benefit card and information on how to access 
the formulary listing (shows what tier prescriptions fall under) and 
pharmacy network information. The State decides rates, out-of-pocket 
costs, and coverages. 

Prescription Maximum Out-of-Pocket
Separate from Medical Maximum Out-of-Pocket (see Medical Plan Cost 
Sharing on pages 8 and 9). 
•	 $1,800/individual
•	 $3,600/family 
Maximum Out-of-Pocket will be based upon a Plan Year, which is 
January 1 through December 31.

Retail Network 
Pharmacy (34-days) 
or Out-of-Network 
Pharmacy (10-days)

Retail Network or 
Mail Order Pharmacy 
(90-days)

$0 Preventive products* $0 Copay $0 Copay
Tier 1 - Preferred 
generics and some lower 
cost brand products

$15 Copay $30 Copay

Tier 2 - Preferred brand 
products 
(may include some high cost 
non-preferred generics)

$50 Copay $100 Copay

Tier 3 - Non-preferred 
products 
(may include some high cost 
non-preferred generics)

50% Coinsurance 
(does not apply to 
Maximum Out-of-
Pocket)

50% Coinsurance 
(does not apply to 
Maximum Out-of-Pocket)

Tier 4 - Specialty 
products

Preferred Specialty 
Pharmacy
$200 Copay for 
Brand Specialty 
Medications
$0 Copay for Generic 
Specialty Medications

Retail Network, Non-
Preferred Specialty 
and Out-of-Network 
Pharmacy  
50% Coinsurance 
(does not apply to 
Maximum Out-of-Pocket)

Tier 4 - Specialty 
products 
(Medicare eligible Retirees)

Preferred Specialty 
Pharmacy
$50 Copay

Retail Network, Non-
Preferred Specialty 
and Out-of-Network 
Pharmacy  
50% Coinsurance 
(does not apply to 
Maximum Out-of-Pocket)

* $0 Preventive products apply to certain preventive medications (as defined by 
the Affordable Care Act (ACA)) and select medications. See the formulary for a 
listing of covered products. 
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Pharmacy Options
Save Big with a 90-Day Supply of Your Medication
You can get a three month (90-day) supply of some 

maintenance medication for a two month copay!
The State Plan pays less for many medications when a 90-day supply is 
filled at an in-network retailer or preferred mail order pharmacy. We pass 
those savings on to you by reducing your copay.  

Preferred 90-Day Supply Options
•	 Most in-network retail pharmacies (refer to network directory)

•	 Costco: (800) 607-6861, pharmacy.costco.com (membership not required)

•	 MiRx: (866) 894-1496, mirxpharmacy.com
•	 Ridgeway: (800) 630-3214, ridgewayrx.com

Specialty Pharmacy
Lumicera Health Services is the State Plan’s preferred pharmacy to 
handle specialty medications (drugs that require special administration).  
Using a pharmacy other than Lumicera for specialty medications could 
cost significantly more and does not accumulate toward your prescription 
annual Max Out-of-Pocket.

Lumicera Health Services
Phone: (855) 847-3553 

TTY for hearing impared users: 711

Navitus Health Solutions
24 Hours a Day/7 Days a Week 

Commercial Phone: (866) 333-2757
navitus.com 

Medicare Rx Phone:  (866) 270-3877
medicarerx.navitus.com

https://benefits.mt.gov/
https://pharmacy.costco.com/
http://mirxpharmacy.com/
https://ridgewayrx.com/
https://www.navitus.com/
mailto:www.medicarerx.navitus.com?subject=
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Delta Dental Networks

$ Preferred Provider (PPO Dentist)
You usually pay the least when you visit a PPO Dentist because they 
agree to Delta’s lowest contracted fees.

$$ Premier Dentist
Premier Dentists have slightly higher contracted fees than PPO Dentists.  
You may end up paying more out-of-pocket at a Premier Dentist.

$$$ Non-Network Dentist
If you see a Non-Network Dentist, you will be responsible for the 
difference between the allowable charge set by Delta Dental and what 
that dentist bills.

Third Party Administrator
Delta Dental processes dental claims for the State Plan.  Remember, 
it’s the State that decides rates, out-of-pocket costs, and coverages.

Delta Dental
(866) 496-2370

deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana
Claims/Billing

Cost Estimates
In-network Providers

Online Account Information

http://www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana
https://www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana/


13

For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Dental Plan Cost Sharing

Eligibility
Employees, Legislators, Retirees*, COBRA participants, and eligible 
spouse/domestic partners and child(ren).

*Retirees under age 65 are required to elect the Dental Plan unless 
they waive the entire benefits package; once Medicare eligible, dental 
coverage is optional.

*Diagnostic & Preventive Benefits are not subject to the deductible.

**For details including what is covered under Basic and Major Benefits 
see the dental section of the Wrap Plan Document at benefits.mt.gov or 
call Delta Dental (866) 496-2370.

Services % Plan pays after 
Deductible is met up 
to Maximum Amount

Diagnostic & Preventive Benefits* 100%
Basic Benefits** 80%
Major Benefits** 50%
Implant Benefits 50%

Deductibles
Per Enrollee per Calendar Year $50
Per Family per Calendar Year $150
Maximum Amount Plan Pays Per Member
Per Calendar Year $1,800
Lifetime for Implant Benefits $1,500

Deductibles and maximums will be based upon a Plan Year, which is 
January 1 through December 31.

https://benefits.mt.gov/
http://benefits.mt.gov
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Basic Vision Plan
All members covered on the Medical Plan are entitled to one routine 
vision and eye health evaluation each year for a $10 copay at a 
participating provider at no additional cost. 

Vision Hardware Plan
You may enroll for vision hardware coverage each year for an extra cost 
which provides for one routine vision and eye health evaluation as well 
as the hardware coverage idenified on page 15.  
•	 If you elect vision hardware coverage, it will apply to everyone 

covered on your Medical Plan.
•	 You must re-enroll each year during the Open Enrollment Period.   

The eye exam benefit and Vision Hardware Plan are administered by 
Cigna Vision.

Eligibility
Employees, Retirees, Legislators, COBRA participants, and eligible 
spouse/domestic partners and child(ren) covered on the Medical Plan. 

Cigna Vision
(877) 478-7557 

stateofmontana@cigna.com
cigna.vsp.com

Check to make sure both your eye doctor and the store where 
you purchase your hardware are participating.

mailto:stateofmontana%40cigna.com?subject=
http://www.cigna.vsp.com
https://cigna.vsp.com/signon.html
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Vision Hardware Cost Sharing

Coverage In-Network Out-Of-Network
Exam Copay $10 N/A
Exam Allowance 
(once per frequency 
period*)

Covered 100% after 
Copay

Up to $45

Materials Copay $20 N/A
Eyeglass Lenses 
Allowances:
(one pair per frequency 
period*)
Single Vision
Lined Bifocal
Lined Trifocal
Lenticular

100% after Copay
100% after Copay
100% after Copay
100% after Copay

Up to $45
Up to $55
Up to $65
Up to $80

Contact Lenses 
Allowances:
(one pair or single purchase 
per frequency period*)
Elective 
Therapeutic

Up to $130 
Covered 100%

Up to $95 
Up to $210

Frame Retail Allowance
(one per frequency period*) Up to $130 Up to $52

*Frequency Period begins on January 1 (Calendar year basis)

Copay: the amount you pay towards your exam and/or materials, lenses 
and/or frames. (Note: copays do not apply to contact lenses).
Coinsurance: the percentage of charges Cigna will pay. Member is 
financially responsible for the balance.
Allowance: the maximum amount Cigna will pay. Member is financially 
responsible for any amount over the allowance.
Materials: eyeglass lenses, frames, and/or contact lenses.

All maximums will be based upon a Plan Year, which is January 1 
through December 31.

https://benefits.mt.gov/


16 Montana Health Centers
Clinic Locations in Anaconda, Billings, Butte, Helena, & Missoula

healthcenter.mt.gov
Visit to learn all about the Montana Health Center’s services, hours of 

operation, provider bios and more!

The Montana Health Centers offer the same kinds of services you would 
find at your regular doctor’s office and more, all at no-cost to you and a 
much lower cost to our self-funded State Plan.

Who Can Use the Montana Health Centers
Employees, Legislators, COBRA participants and non-Medicare eligible 
Retirees and their non-Medicare eligible spouse/domestic partners and 
their child(ren) age two and older who are covered on the State Plan. 

Medicare eligible Retirees and their Medicare eligible dependents 
may only use the Montana Health Centers for flu shots, COVID-19 
vaccinations, and state-sponsored health screenings.

Services
Primary care services including treatment for colds, flus, COVID-19, 
infections, minor stitches, strains, sprains, wound care, asthma, 
cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease, chronic stress, pre-
diabetes, diabetes, gastroesophageal reflux disease, high blood 
pressure, specialized diets, tobacco cessation and much more.

Appointments
Visit mypremisehealth.com or call (855) 200-6822. 

The first time you go to mypremisehealth.com you will need to register.  

You can also make appointments using the My Premise Health app.  

https://healthcenter.mt.gov/
http://www.healthcenter.mt.gov 
https://www.mypremisehealth.com/MyChart/Authentication/Login?
https://www.mypremisehealth.com/MyChart/Authentication/Login?


Primary Care & Wellness Coaching
The Montana Health Center provides integrated primary, behavioral 
health, preventive care, and wellness coaching including:

•	 Same day service for acute conditions
•	 Comprehensive wellness physicals and health screenings
•	 Behavioral care such as stress management and tobacco cessation
•	 Sports physicals, personal training, weight management
•	 Personalized coaching, individual goal setting,
•	 Nutrition guidance, diabetes, blood pressure and/or cholesterol 

management
•	 And more!

A team of healthcare professionals including physicians, physician 
assistants, nurse practitioners, nurses, dietitians, and fitness experts 
are here to help. Visit healthcenter.mt.gov for more information. 

Primary Virtual Care
The State of Montana provides a telemedicine benefit to all eligible 
members called Primary Virtual Care (PVC). PVC is provided through 
the State Plan’s contract with Premise Health. 

PVC provides fast access to board certified physicians that can 
diagnose illness, recommend treatment, and prescribe medications 
over the phone or through video chat. 

Quality medical care is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 
365 days per year.

In most cases, PVC is a good fit for treatment of:  
 

For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan Document 
(WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

•	 Allergies
•	 Arthritic pain
•	 Bronchitis
•	 Certain Rashes
•	 Cold/Flu Symptoms
•	 Ear Infections
•	 Gastroenteritis
•	 Headaches/Migraine

•	 Insect Bites
•	 Minor Burns
•	 Respiratory Infection
•	 Sinus Infections
•	 Sore Throat
•	 Sprains/Strains
•	 Stomach-Ache
•	 Urinary Tract Infection

Visit healthcenter.mt.gov/virtual-telehealth for appointment 
scheduling instructions.

17

https://healthcenter.mt.gov/index
http://benefits.mt.gov
https://healthcenter.mt.gov/Virtual-Telehealth
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The State Plan offers the incentive program to all plan members and their enrolled spouse/domestic partner. If you think you may be unable to meet a 
standard of the incentive program, you may qualify for an alternative program or different means to earn the incentive. You must contact the Health Care & 
Benefits Division (HCBD) as soon as possible at 800-287-8266 or email livelifewell@mt.gov.  We will work with you (and if you wish, your doctor) to design 
a program with the same incentive that is right for you. 
We will maintain the privacy of your personally identifiable health information. Medical information that personally identifies you and that is provided through 
the incentive program will not be used to make decisions regarding your employment. Your health information shall only be disclosed to carry out specific 
activities related to the incentive program (such as responding to your request for a reasonable accommodation). You will not be asked or required to waive 
the confidentiality of your health information to participate or to receive an incentive. Anyone who receives your information for purposes of providing you 
services through the incentive program will abide by the same confidentiality requirements. 
We securely maintain all electronically stored medical information we obtain through the incentive program, and will take appropriate precautions to avoid a 
data breach. If a data breach does occur involving information you provided to us for the incentive program, we will notify you immediately.
A copy of the Plan’s privacy notice is available on the HCBD website or by going to benefits.mt.gov/_docs/Documents/hipaa-notice.pdf.    

2022 INCENTIVE
Earn $30 per month off your 2023 benefit contribution! Get 
2X the incentive if a covered spouse/domestic partner also 
participates.

WIN A $50 GIFT CARD
Complete your State-sponsored health screening by August 31 to 

automatically be entered to win a $50 gift card.  

Have a State-sponsored health screening.
Appointments are subject to availability.  
Make an appointment following the instructions 
at healthcenter.mt.gov or call (855) 200-6822.

HEALTH SCREENING 

NICOTINE FREE 

Self-report if you are nicotine free or have 
completed an eligible alternative at 
myactivehealth.com/som.
If you use nicotine and need an alternative to 
complete this portion of the incentive, you must 
self-report that you have completed one of two 
alternatives:
- A nicotine cessation program; or
- A nicotine education session with your 
   primary care provider.

ELIGIBLE PROVIDER VISIT

Self-report if you have completed an eligible 
visit with a provider at myactivehealth.com/som 
by  October 31, 2022.  

DON’T WAIT - DO IT NOW!
Please complete your health screening 
earlier in the year to make sure it shows up 
during Open Enrollment.  Self-report any 
activity you’ve completed any time! 

SELF-REPORT OR CHECK YOUR INCENTIVE 
STATUS TODAY!

myactivehealth.com/som 

1.	 Log in, then click “Rewards.”  Your 
State-sponsored health screening is 
automatically uploaded into the site.  It 
will take a month to appear after you’ve 
completed your screening.  

2.	 Click “Nicotine Free” to self-report your 
Nicotine Free status or alternative. Make 
sure to click “Save.”

3.	 Click “Provider Visit” to self-report 
completion of your Eligible Provider Visit.   
Make sure to click “Save.” 

4.	 Call (855) 206-1302 for help with the 
MyActiveHealth site.

5.	 Enjoy $30 off your contributions every 
month in 2023!  

For more information about Live Life Well 
Incentives or for instructions for self-reporting 
visit benefits.mt.gov/incentive.

Wellness Incentive

mailto:https://benefits.mt.gov/_docs/Documents/hipaa-notice.pdf?subject=
https://benefits.mt.gov/Live-Life-Well/Incentive/
mailto:https://healthcenter.mt.gov/?subject=
mailto:https://www.myactivehealth.com/Portal/PortalLogin.aspx%3FSupplierURL%3D13399?subject=
mailto:https://www.myactivehealth.com/Portal/PortalLogin.aspx%3FSupplierURL%3D13399?subject=
https://www.myactivehealth.com/Portal/?InvokeSupplierRouting=true
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

Wellness Programs

The State of Montana’s Live Life Well Program mission is to promote 
healthy lifestyle choices and improve the health, well being and quality 
of life of our employees, legislators, retirees and their families.

Wellness Programs 
Members may choose to participate in as many wellness programs as 
they like. Plus most benefits have no additional out-of-pocket cost.  

•	 Disease Management Programs (Diabetes, Asthma, etc.)
•	 Weight Management* 
•	 Disease Prevention Programs
•	 Prenatal/Maternity Benefits*
•	 Wellness Coaching
•	 Preventive Benefits (health screenings, vaccinations, etc.)
•	 Nicotine Cessation Programs  
*Additional incentives available 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/livelifewell for more information. 

Healthy Weight Incentive
Earn a $200 incentive for successfully completing an eligible program. 

Choose one of the eligible programs below that best fits your needs.  
1.	 Weight Watchers
2.	 Healthy For Life Self-Study Program
3.	 Diabetes Prevention Program

The Healthy Weight Incentive is available to members of the State 
Plan and their covered spouse/domestic partner. One incentive can be 
earned per member per plan year. 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/healthy-weight-incentive for more information.
 

https://benefits.mt.gov/
http://www.benefits.mt.gov/livelifewell 
https://benefits.mt.gov/Live-Life-Well/Wellness-Programs/healthy-weight-incentive


20 Tobacco Surcharge
Survivors enrolling on the State Plan must self-report their nicotine use 
status as part of their Survivor Election. In the event the survivor is a 
Nicotine User, a Tobacco Surcharge will apply. The Tobacco Surcharge is 
$30 per month per Nicotine User.

See the definitions below and note the eligible alternatives included in 
the defintion of Nicotine Free.

Nicotine  
•	 Nicotine is an addictive stimulant proven to have negative health 

effects that is found in cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, and most 
vaping products.  

Nicotine Free
•	 You are nicotine free if you have never used nicotine, have quit using 

nicotine, use only FDA-approved Nicotine Replacement Therapy 
(NRT), or infrequently use nicotine (less than 4x per month).

•	 You are nicotine free if you are currently using nicotine but have 
completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program or a 
nicotine counseling session with a medical provider) during the past 
12 months.

Nicotine User
•	 You are a nicotine user if you are currently using nicotine and HAVE 

NOT completed an eligible alternative (nicotine cessation program 
or a nicotine counseling session with a medical provider) during the 
past 12 months.

To avoid the $30 per month Tobacco Surcharge you need to 
annually self-attest your nicotine use. 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/TobaccoSurcharge for more information.  

https://benefits.mt.gov/Resources/TobaccoSurcharge
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

HIPAA Notice

STATE OF MONTANA HIPAA NOTICE OF PRIVACY PRACTICES

The State of Montana HIPAA Notice is available on our website 
benefits.mt.gov.

If you have any questions about your privacy rights, please contact the 
State Plan at the following address:
•	 Contact Office or Person: Privacy Official      
•	 Plan Name: State of Montana Benefit Plan
•	 Telephone:(406) 444-7462 (in Helena) or (800) 287-8266; TTY (406) 

444-1421
•	 Email: benefitsquestions@mt.gov
•	 Address: Health Care & Benefits Division 

	           PO Box 200130 
	           Helena, MT 59620-0130         

Copies of the HIPAA Notice are also available at 100 North Park Avenue, 
Suite 320, Helena, MT 59601. You may request the Notice by calling 
the Health Care & Benefits Division or sending a request by email to the 
above address.  

DISCLAIMER
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) was enacted on 
March 23, 2010. The United States Departments of Health and Human 
Services, Labor, and Treasury have issued regulations to help entities 
comply with PPACA. However, additional clarifications to address issues 
that may arise under these regulations could also be published by the 
Departments on an on-going manner through administrative guidance 
possibly in another form than a regulation. Where the statutes or 
regulations were not clear regarding benefits, the State of Montana made 
a reasonable interpretation of the act and made a good faith effort to 
comply with the statutes and regulations. The State of Montana reserves 
the right to alter provisions of this document and its plan in order to 
comply with applicable law.

https://benefits.mt.gov/
http://www.benefits.mt.gov.
mailto:benefitsquestions@mt.gov
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Balance Billing - The amount over the State Plan’s allowable charge 
that may be billed to the member by a non-participating provider.

Benefit Payment/Contribution - What you pay each month for your 
State Plan coverage.

Benefit Percentage - The percent the State Plan pays after you meet 
your deductible. 

Copay - A copay is a fixed dollar amount you pay for a covered service.  
The State Plan pays the rest of the fair amount billed for a service.

Deductible - A deductible is how much you must pay each Plan Year 
before the State Plan starts to pay.

Grandfather Month - If you were hired before August 1, 1998 and have 
had no lapse in State Plan coverage, you are entitled to one extra month 
of employer contribution and benefits coverage upon retiring or leaving 
State employment. 

Maximum Out-of-Pocket - The maximum out-of-pocket is the most you 
will have to pay for covered services in a Plan Year. 

Non-Participating Providers - Non-participating providers and facilities 
have chosen not to sign a contract with Allegiance in Montana or Cigna 
outside of Montana. If you use a non-participating facility or provider, 
the State Plan will pay a fair rate for your care, but the non-participating 
provider may balance bill you for more. You are responsible for any 
balance bills you receive. 

The following explanations are to help you understand the terms in 
this book and do not replace the definitions found in the Wrap Plan 
Document. The definitions in the Wrap Plan Document govern the rights 
and obligations of the State Plan and Plan Members.



Open Enrollment Period -  A period each fall in which you have the 
opportunity to make changes to your State Plan options for the following 
Plan Year. These changes take effect January 1 of the following year. 

Participating Provider - Participating providers and facilities have 
contracted with Allegiance in Montana and Cigna outside of Montana to 
accept a low, fair rate (the PBME) for your care.

Plan Member - Anyone covered on the State Plan including Employees, 
Legislators, Retirees, COBRA participants, and eligible spouse/domestic 
partner and/or child(ren).

Plan Year - The Plan year starts January 1 and ends December 31 each 
year.

Pre-Admission Certification Review - Calling Allegiance so they can 
determine if an inpatient hospital stay meets the criteria to be covered 
by the State Plan. It’s important to get this approval for non-emergency 
hospital stays ahead of time and within 72 after a non-planned 
admission.

Pre-Treatment Review - Calling Allegiance before you have a medical 
service to make sure it meets “medically necessary” criteria. This is not a 
guarantee of payment.

Procedure Based Maximum Expense (PBME) - The fair amount the 
State Plan will pay for a service.

Special Enrollment Period - A period of time during which an eligible 
person may request coverage under the State Plan as a result of certain 
events that create special enrollment rights.

Specialty Drugs - Specialty drugs usually require special handling, 
administration, unique inventory management, a high level of patient 
monitoring and more intense support than conventional therapies.  They 
could include all routes of administration (self-injectable, oral, or infused).  
They are typically very expensive.

State Plan - The self-funded State of Montana Benefit Plan.

Tobacco Surcharge - $30 per month charge for being a Nicotine User.
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For complete details about the State Plan, refer to the Wrap Plan 
Document (WPD) available on the website benefits.mt.gov.

https://benefits.mt.gov/
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Language Assistance and 

Non-Discrimination Statement



Non-Discrimination Statement Continued 
State of Montana does not exclude people or treat them differently 
because of race, color, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or medical conditions 
related to pregnancy or childbirth, political or religious affiliation or ideas, 
culture, creed, social origin or condition, genetic information, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, ancestry, 
age, disability, military service or veteran status or marital status. State 
of Montana provides free aids and services to people with disabilities 
to communicate effectively with us, such as: qualified sign language 
interpreters and written information in other formats (large print, audio, 
accessible electronic formats, other formats). State of Montana provides 
free language services to people whose primary language is not English 
such as: qualified interpreters and information written in other languages. 
If you need these services, contact customer service at 855-999-1062. If 
you believe that State of Montana has failed to provide these services or 
discriminated in another way on the basis of  race, color, sex, pregnancy, 
childbirth or medical conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, political 
or religious affiliation or ideas, culture, creed, social origin or condition, 
genetic information, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, 
national origin, ancestry, age, disability, military service or veteran 
status or marital status you can file a grievance. If you need help filing a 
grievance the State Diversity Coordinator is available to help you. You 
can file a grievance in person or by mail, or email: 

State Diversity Program Coordinator
Department of Administration
State Human Resources Division
125 N. Roberts
P.O. Box 200127
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 444-3871
Email: SABHRSHR@mt.gov

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, electronically through 
the Office for Civil Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.
hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, or by mail or phone at: 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue, SW 
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, D.C. 20201 
1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD)
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mailto:SABHRSHR%40mt.gov%20?subject=
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
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Contact Information

Eligibility & General Questions
(800) 287-8266, (406) 444-7462, TTY (406) 444-1421
Fax (406) 444-0080
benefitsquestions@mt.gov
benefits.mt.gov
100 N Park Ave., Suite 320 PO Box 200130
Helena, MT 59620-0130

All Montana Health Centers
(855) 200-6822
General Info: healthcenter.mt.gov
Appointments: mypremisehealth.com or (855) 200-6822

Claims, Benefits, Participating Providers, etc.
(855) 999-1057
askallegiance.com/som
PO Box 3018 Missoula, MT 59806

Dental Benefits, Claims, & Customer Service
Phone: (866) 496-2370
Web: deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana

Vision Service Providers & Hardware Coverage
Phone: (877) 478-7557
Web: askallegiance.com/som “Vision” under “Benefits” Tab

Flexible Spending Accounts
Phone: (800) 659-3035 Fax: (877) 879-9038
Email: asi@asiflex.com
Web: asiflex.com

Prescriptions & Customer Service
Phone: (866) 333-2757  Web: navitus.com
Medicare Rx Phone: (866) 270-3877 Web: medicarerx.navitus.com

Mail Order Prescription Drugs:
   Costco: (800) 607-6861   
   Ridgeway Pharmacy: (800) 630-3214
   MiRx: (866) 894-1496

Specialty Meds: 
  Lumicera Health Services: (855) 847-3553 

https://healthcenter.mt.gov/
https://healthcenter.mt.gov/
https://askallegiance.com/som/
https://www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana/
mailto:benefitsquestions%40mt.gov%20?subject=
http://www.benefits.mt.gov
http://www.healthcenter.mt.gov
https://www.mypremisehealth.com/MyChart/Authentication/Login?
https://askallegiance.com/som/
http://www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana
https://askallegiance.com/som/
https://askallegiance.com/som/
https://benefits.mt.gov/
https://www.navitus.com/
mailto:asi%40asiflex.com?subject=
https://asiflex.com/
https://asiflex.com/
http://www.medicarerx.navitus.com

