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Dear Members of the State Employee Benefits Plan,  

This year, you’ll likely notice two major changes in the Annual Change Book: the elimination of the Classic 
Plan and increases in rates.  We want to help you understand why these changes were made, what it means 
for you, and what options you have. 

The State Employee Benefits Plan (Plan) is self-funded.  This is important to 
understand.  It means the money that pays for your doctor visits, surgeries and 
other health care expenses comes from two places:  

1. State share which is $887 per month per employee in 2015.  This amount is 
set by the legislature and funded by taxes. 

2. Plan members’ monthly contributions, which are based on who’s on your 
Plan and which optional benefits you choose.   

All that money is held by the Plan. The State of Montana designs and 
administers the health Plan.  This includes setting contribution rates and Plan coverage in accordance with 
federal guidelines like the Affordable Care Act.  The Plan is described in the Summary Plan Document or 
SPD.  It’s very important to understand that changes to the Plan and rates are decided by the State, not 
Cigna, Delta Dental, or other third party administrators. The state contracts with these third party 
administrators for services including processing claims of our members, use of their medical policy and 
network of providers, handling appeals, and case management.  

The claims paid by the Plan vary each year.  This year the Plan experienced an increase in claims spending.  
This is due to many factors like last year’s open enrollment, which brought additional members onto the Plan; 
a record number of members receiving health screenings and are subsequently seeking care for health 
conditions of which they may not have been aware; increases in the amounts charged by the hospitals; and 
more.   

After careful consideration, the Classic Plan has been eliminated.  Only 6% of members had the Classic 
Plan, and it historically cost more for both the member and the Plan as a whole.  Current Classic Plan 
members will be glad to know the Capitol Plan has the same network that the Classic had and now also 
includes naturopathic and acupuncture benefits. 

The Health Care and Benefits Division works to provide members with the most comprehensive coverage in 
the most cost effective manner possible.  Money is spent to increase the health and wellness of our 
members.  We also invest dollars in preventive screening and disease management, which will save you the 
member and Plan money in the long run.  Remember, a $15/month blood pressure medication is much more 
cost effective than a stay in the cardiac intensive care unit. 

One great example of an investment in the future of our members is the Montana Health Centers. First year 
numbers show big savings to members and the Plan when it comes to screenings, disease management, 
radiology, lab, and primary care services. 

You may be wondering what you can do to help control costs.  We all have the ability to be good health care 
consumers.  We encourage you to use Montana Health Centers whenever possible, receive preventive 
screenings, participate in the Live Life Well Incentive program, use our mail order pharmacies if you have a 
recurring prescription, and always seek in-network providers. 

Unfortunately, there is no “silver bullet” to solve the problem of rising health care costs, but the Health Care 
and Benefits Division is committed to seeking new and innovative ways to keep costs down while providing 
the top level benefits State of Montana employees deserve.   

Thank you for the hard work you do to engage in your health and wellness. 

Your partners in good health, 

 

The HCBD Staff 

Introduction 
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How To Do Elections Online 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

For access from MINE: 
1. Log into MINE:  http://

mine.mt.gov  
2. Click Employee Self Service 
3. Click Benefits Enrollment 
4. Follow the online directions.   

For access from home: 
A. Go to the State Employee 

Access page at www.mt.gov/
employee  

B. Click on the MINE Employee 
Self Service Portal 

C. Follow the directions above for 
access from MINE 

2 

3 

B 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Annual Change Employee Presentation Schedule 

Town  Date Time Location 

Anaconda Oct 2 (Thurs) 1:00 PM 
AOH 

106 Cherry ST 

Billings Sept 30 (Tues) 7:00 PM Spouses 
Hampton Inn – Clark Room 

5110 South Gate DR 

Billings Oct 1 (Wed) 8:30 AM 
Hampton Inn – Clark Room 

5110 South Gate DR 

Billings Oct 1 (Wed) 1:00 PM 
DPHHS Public Assistance 

111 N 31
st
 ST 

Billings Oct 2 (Thurs) 8:00 AM 
Job Service 

2121 Rosebud Dr 

Billings Oct 2 (Thurs) 10:00 AM 
Revenue 

175 N 27
th
 ST #1400 

Billings Oct 2 (Thurs) 12:30 PM 
Corrections Parole Staff Only 

2615 4
th
 AVE S 

Large Conference room 

Billings Oct 2 (Thurs) 2:30 PM 
Justice Building staff only 

615 S 27
th
 ST 

Billings Oct 2 (Thurs) 4:30 PM, 6:00 PM 
Women's Prison Employees Only 

701 S 27
th
 ST 

Billings Oct 3 (Fri) 8:30 AM 
DPHHS Child & Family Services Staff Only 

2525 4
th
 AVE N #309 

2
nd

 Floor conference room 

Billings Oct 3 (Fri) 10:30 AM 
Public Defender Staff Only 

207 N Broadway #201 

Billings Oct 3 (Fri) 1:30 PM 
FWP & DEQ Employees 

FWP 
2300 Lake Elmo DR 

Boulder Sept 29 (Mon) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM* 
MT Devel.Ctr 
310 4

th
 Ave 

Recr Bldg-Multi-purpose Room 

Bozeman Oct 1 (Wed) 
9:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 

3:00 PM 
FWP 

1400 S 19th AVE 

Bozeman Oct 6 (Mon) 9:00 AM 
FWP 

1400 S 19th AVE 

Butte Sept 29 (Mon) 
1:00 PM, 2:30 PM 

6:30 Spouses 
MT Tech 

Big Butte Room- Student Union Bldg 

Columbia Falls Sept 24 (Wed) 2:30 PM* 
Veteran’s Home Chapel 

400 Veterans Dr 

Columbia Falls 
Sept 25 
(Thurs) 

7:00 AM, 8:30 AM 
Veteran’s Home Chapel 

400 Veterans Dr 

Deer Lodge Oct 3 (Fri) 9:00 AM, 11:00 AM DOC Training Center 

Deer Lodge Oct 14 (Tues) 9:30 AM, 2:30 PM 
Prison 

600 Conley Lake RD 

Dillon Oct 6 (Mon) 
2:30 PM 

5:30 PM Spouses 
Search & Rescue Building 

1116 HWY 41 

Glasgow Oct 6 (Mon) 1:30 PM, 3:00 PM* 
Job Service 
74 4th ST N 

Glendive Sept 29 (Mon) 8:30 AM 
Dawson Comm Coll-UC 105 

300 College DR 

Great Falls Oct 8 (Wed) 
8:30 AM 

6:30 PM Spouses 

Benefis Hospital 
1101 26

th
 ST S 

Wiegand Room 

Great Falls Oct 8 (Wed) 1:00 PM,3:15 PM 
School for the Deaf & Blind 

3911 Central Ave-Upstairs room 

Great Falls Oct 9 (Thurs) 8:30 AM,10:00 AM 
FWP 

4600 Giant Springs RD 

*Combined employee/retiree presentation.  This presentation will include special retiree information and may take slightly longer. 
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Annual Change Employee Presentation Schedule Continued 

Town  Date Time Location 

Hamilton Sept 22 (Mon) 8:30 AM 
City Hall 

Council Chambers 
223 S Second ST 

Havre Oct 7 (Tues) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM* 
Best Western 
1345 1st ST 

Helena 
Sept 18 
(Thurs) 

8:30 AM,10:30 AM 
1:00 PM, 3:00 PM 

DPHHS 
Sanders Auditorium 
111 N Sanders ST 

Helena Sept 22 (Mon) 
8:30 AM 

1:00 PM, 2:30 PM 
7:00 PM Spouses 

DPHHS 
Sanders Auditorium 
111 N Sanders ST 

Helena Sept 23 (Tues) 
8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 

1:00 PM 
MPERA Board Room IBM Building employees only 

100 N. Park Ave. 

Helena Sept 24 (Wed) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
Scot Hart 

Scot Hart Auditorium 
302 N Robert St 

Helena 
Sept 25 
(Thurs) 

8:30 AM 
1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 

DPHHS 
Sanders Auditorium 
111 N Sanders ST 

Helena Sept 26 (Fri) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
Commerce 

301 S Park Ave 
Room 226-228 

Helena Sept 30 (Tues) 
8:30 AM 

1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 

MDT 
2701 Prospect AVE 

Dave Manning Building 

Helena Oct 2 (Thurs) 6:30 Spouses 
DPHHS 

Sanders Auditorium 
111 N Sanders ST 

Helena Oct 7 (Tues) 
8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 

State Fund 
855 Front ST 

Room 109 

Helena Oct 10 (Fri) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
State Auditors Building Employees Only 

840 Helena Ave 
Large conference room 

Helena Oct 14 (Tues) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
Revenue-Donovan Building Employees Only 

340 N Last Chance Gulch 

Helena Oct 14 (Tues) 1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 
Liquor Division Warehouse crew 

Conf Room 
2517 Airport RD 

Helena Oct 16 (Thurs) 
8:30 AM 

1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 

MDT 
2701 Prospect AVE 

Dave Manning Building 

Helena Oct 17 (Fri) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
Dpt MA-Fort Harrison 

Auditorium 

Helena Oct 20 (Mon) 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM 
Old State Fund 

5 South Last Chance Gulch 
Basement Training Room 

Helena Oct 20 (Mon) 1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 
Colonial Building Employees Only 

2401 Colonial DR 
Wilderness Room 

Helena Oct 21 (Tues) 8:30 AM 
DPHHS 

Sanders Auditorium 
111 N Sanders ST 

Helena Oct 21 (Tues) 1:30 PM, 3:00 PM 
DEQ Employees Only 

1520 E 6
th
 AVE 

Metcalf Building Rm 111 

*Combined employee/retiree presentation.  This presentation will include special retiree information and may take slightly longer. 
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Town  Date Time Location 

Kalispell Sept 23 (Tues) 1:30 PM 
FWP 

490 N Meridian RD 

Kalispell Sept 23 (Tues) 7:00 PM Spouses 
ImagineIF  Library 

247 1
st
 Ave E. 

Kalispell 
Sept 25 
(Thurs) 

10:30 AM 
MDT 

85 5
th
 AVE EN 

Not Handicap Accessible 

Lewistown Oct 15 (Wed) 2:30 PM FWP - 215 W Aztec DR 

Lewistown Oct 15 (Wed) 
10:00 AM, 4:00 PM 

6:30 PM Spouse 
MMHNCC 

800 Casino Creek DR 

Libby Sept 24 (Wed) 9:30 AM, 11:00 AM* 
City Hall 

952 E Spruce 
Ponderosa Room 

Miles City Sept 29 (Mon) 2:30 PM 
Pine Hills 

4 N Hayes Ave 

Miles City Sept 30 (Tues) 8:30 AM, 1:00 PM 
Sleep Inn 

Tongue River 
1006 S Haynes Ave 

Missoula Sept 22 (Mon) 
1:30 PM 

4:30 PM EE & 
Spouse 

FWP- Staff 
3201 Spurgin RD 

Missoula Oct 8 (Wed) 
8:30 AM, 1:00 PM 
7:00 PM Spouses 

Ruby’s Inn 
4825 N Reserve ST 

Missoula Oct 9 (Thurs) 9:00 AM 
MDT 

2100 W Broadway 

Missoula Oct 9 (Thurs) 11:00 AM 
Revenue Property Revenue, Labor, Ag employees Only 

2681 Palmer ST, STE I 
2

nd
 Floor Conference room 

Missoula Oct 9 (Thurs) 1:00 PM 
Corrections P&P Employees Only 

2415 Mullen RD 

Missoula Oct 9 (Thurs) 3:00 PM 
MHP conference room—Employees in building only 

Conference on 1
st
 floor 

2681 Palmer Street 

Polson Sept 23 (Tues) 9:30 AM 
Lake County Court House 

Large Conference Room, 3
rd

 Floor 
106 4

th
 AVE E 

Shelby Oct 7 (Tues) 2:00 PM 
Marias Electric Co-op 
910 Roosevelt Hwy 

Warm Springs Oct 2 (Thurs) 3:30 PM 
MSH - 300 Garnet Way 

Classroom A & B 

Warm Springs Oct 3 (Fri) 7:00 AM 
MSH - 300 Garnet Way 

Classroom A & B 

Webinar Sept 19 (Fri) 1-2 PM http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/ 

Webinar Sept 23 (Tues) 9-10 AM http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/ 

Webinar Oct 1 (Wed) 2:30-3:30 PM http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/ 

Webinar Oct 9 (Thurs) 12:30-1:30 PM http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/ 

Webinar Oct 14 (Tues) 8:30-9:30 AM http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/ 

Webinar Oct 20 (Mon) 12-1 PM http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/ 

Wolf Point Oct 6 (Mon) 10:30 AM* 
County Court House 
District Court Room 

400 2
nd

 Ave S 

Annual Change Employee Presentation Schedule Continued 

*Combined employee/retiree presentation.  This presentation will include special retiree information and may take slightly longer. 

http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/
http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/
http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/
http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/
http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/
http://mtdept.adobeconnect.com/benefits2011/
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Eligibility   
Dependent Changes, Information, Qualifying Events 

2015 Open Enrollment  
Members may add eligible dependents (see below) to their medical Plan without a qualifying event during Annual 
Change (September 17, 2014-October 22, 2014). 
 
Eligible Dependents Defined 
Eligible dependents include:  
A. The eligible employee’s lawful spouse or declared domestic partner. Declaration of Domestic Partnership forms may 

be obtained from Health Care and Benefits Division (HCBD).  
B. The eligible employee’s dependent children who are under age 26 and not in full-time active military service. 

Dependent children are:  
 1) natural or legally adopted children of the eligible employee or the employee’s lawful or declared domestic 
 partner; or  
 2) any other child with whom the eligible employee maintains a parent-child relationship.  

C. An employee’s dependent children who are incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of mental or 
physical disability may be eligible for medical, dental, and life benefits after they turn 26. 

See the Summary Plan Document for more details on Eligible Dependents. 
The member is responsible for removing any dependents who cease to be eligible.  Failure to do so will result in the 
member being held responsible for repayment of any claims dollars paid out for ineligible dependents. 
 
Annual Change Elections 
Members can use online benefits enrollment from September 17 to October 22, 2014 to make changes to Plan options 
for themselves and/or their eligible dependents. These changes take effect January 1, 2015. 
 
Adding/Deleting Dependents 
You may delete dependent coverage during annual change, but once a dependent is removed from the medical Plan, 
they may not be re-enrolled outside of an open enrollment period without a documented qualifying event (described on 
this page).   
 
Declaring Dependent’s Tax Status 
All employees who add benefits coverage for a spouse or domestic partner during Annual Change may receive a 
Declaration of Tax Status form.  If you do not return the form, your spouse or domestic partner will default to a non-
qualified tax status.  You can find the Declaration of Tax Status form on the HCBD website on the Forms and 
Publications page.  
  
Enrolling Dependents After Annual Change 
After Annual Change,  dependent coverage enrollment is only allowed during qualifying events.  Some examples 
include: 

 Within 60 days of becoming a dependent (through marriage or court-ordered support/custody/legal guardianship); 

 Within 60 days of losing eligibility (not voluntary cancellation) for other group coverage;  

 Within 60 days of losing an employer’s contribution toward other group coverage, sustaining a major increase in out-of-
pocket costs, or losing benefits; 

 Within 91 days after birth or adoption
1
 

1The newborn child of a qualified dependent child (your grandchild) will automatically have coverage for the first 31 days 
after birth, but cannot be added permanently after that time. 

Notify Health Care and Benefits Division when one of the above circumstances occurs (within the specified time frames) 
to enroll dependents after Annual Change. 
For more details regarding qualifying events, call HCBD or see the Summary Plan Document available on the FORMS 
page at www.benefits.mt.gov. 
 
 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/1.files/spd.revision.2013.pdf
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/1.files/declaration.tax.status.pdf
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/benefits.enroll.mid.year.changes.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/1.files/spd.revision.2013.pdf
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Pre-tax Plan 

The Pre-tax Plan allows you 
to deduct your portion of 
most of your monthly 
benefits payments on a Pre-
tax basis.   If the state 
contribution covers your 
benefits payment entirely, 
you do not need to 
participate in the Pre-tax 
Plan, unless you have a 
Flexible Spending Account 
(FSA).  Enrollment in an 
FSA requires participation in 
the Pre-tax Plan.  
 
The tax status you selected 
for 2014 will continue into 
the 2015 Plan Year unless 
you indicate otherwise. 
 
Who Is Eligible? 
All employees enrolled in the 
State Employee Benefit 
Plan. 
 

Eligible Benefits 
Payments for the 
policyholder’s medical, 
dental, vision, accidental 
death & dismemberment 
(AD&D), employee term life 
(only Plans A and C up to 
$50,000 of coverage), and 
flexible spending elections 
may be paid Pre-tax through 
the Pre-tax Plan.  Payments 
for the policyholder’s tax 
qualified dependents are 
also eligible for the Pre-tax 
Plan.  
 
Ineligible Benefits 
Dependent life insurance 
coverage, supplemental 
spouse life insurance 
coverage, employee life 
coverage over $50,000, and 
long term disability 
insurance coverage are 
defined by IRS code as 

taxable benefits and are 
excluded from the Pre-tax 
Plan.  
 
Retirees & COBRA 
Members 
Retirees and COBRA 
members can elect to 
prepay contributions through 
the end of the year in which 
their employee coverage 
terminates.   These 
contributions will be taken on 
a Pre-tax basis if you are 
currently enrolled in the Pre-
tax Plan.   
 
If you are thinking about 
leaving State employment 
and either taking COBRA or 
retiring, consult your tax 
advisor.  
 
If you have mid-year 
coverage changes that 

reduce the amount of your 
contribution, and 
documentation is received 
within 60 days of the 
qualifying event, you will 
receive a refund.  Refunds 
will not be issued after the 
61st day. 
 
The majority of benefits 
payments, whether paid with 
Pre-tax or after-tax dollars, 
cannot be refunded. In the 
event of automatic coverage 
termination due to death or 
Medicaid/SCHIP eligibility, 
contributions subsequently 
collected will be returned as 
regular taxable 
compensation.  
 
Consult your tax advisor to 
determine the specific effect 
the Pre-tax Plan will have on 
your taxes. 

IRS regulations do not permit refunds of contributions paid Pre-tax.  Notify Health Care & Benefits 
Division of any changes as soon as possible to avoid overpayment.   

Retiree Annual Change Book 
There is a separate retiree booklet available 

containing important information on your benefit 
options through the open marketplace (under 65)  

and/or Medicare supplemental insurance (over 65) 
Please contact HCBD at 800-287-8266 for more 

information. 

What’s the Catch? 
According to IRS rules, a drawback of the Pre-tax Plan is that no refund is allowed. This means you MUST notify HCBD 
right away if a dependent spouse or child loses eligibility for coverage. If you do not notify HCBD of a loss of eligibility, 
you will continue to make benefit payments until you notify HCBD, and more contributions may be taken out of your 

check than you owe,  
No refund is available for payments made for ineligible dependents. 

 

Also, remember that gross earnings for purposes of determining social security benefits may be reduced by Pre-tax 
deductions.  Consult your tax advisor for details. 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

Thinking about retiring? 
Call MPERA: 
Joel Thompson (406) 444-0199 or Armando Oropeza (406) 444-9139 
 
Retiree Checklist  
Visit www.benefits.mt.gov under EMPLOYEES tab then under PRE 
RETIREMENT. 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/index.html
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CORE Benefits 

Medical Plan (See rates on page 10)  Cigna $______________ (a) 

Dental Plan (See rates on page 15)   Choose Basic or Premium Delta Dental $______________(b) 

Basic Life Insurance of $14,000 (See page 23)  $__________1.90  (c) 

Total Core Benefits Contribution  Add lines a, b, and c = $______________(d) 

Optional Benefits  

Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA)
 
(page 

21)  
Medical FSA $______________(e) 

 
 

Dependent Care FSA 
 

$_______________(f) 

Vision hardware (See rates on page 17)  $______________(g) 

Life Insurance (See rates on page 23) Dependent Life for $0.52 ($2,000 / spouse; $1,000 / child) $______________(h) 

Optional Employee Life (Age rate x every $1,000 of coverage) $_______________(i) 

Supplemental Spouse (Age rate x every $1,000 of coverage) $_______________(j) 

Accidental Death & Dismemberment ($0.020 x every $1,000 of coverage or $0.030 with dependents x every $1,000 of 
coverage) $______________(k) 

Long Term Disability (LTD)
2
 (See info on page 25)  $_______________(l) 

2
Legislators are not eligible for LTD   

Optional Benefits Contribution 
Total 

Add lines e, f, g, h, i, j, k, and l =  $______________(m) 

Totals 

Core Benefits Enter amount from line d $______________(n) 

Optional Benefits Enter amount from line m $______________(o) 

Total Benefits Add lines n and o $______________(p) 

State Contribution Enter $887 for active employees and legislators $___________887(q) 

Live Life Well Incentive total
3 

 $______________(r) 

3
Enter $10 for each of the following: 

You attended a 2014 State sponsored health screening AND filled out Cigna’s online health assessment ($10) 

You are tobacco-free or completed a qualifying tobacco cessation program.  ($10) 

You completed three Next Step activities. ($10) 

Your dependent over age 18 completed any or all of the three steps above. ($10-$30) 

Joint core members may qualify for a total monthly discount of $120.  

See benefits.mt.gov/pages/incentive.faqs.html for full details. 

Member’s Total Monthly 
Costs for 2015 Benefits 

 
Subtract lines q and r from line p 

$________________ 

Benefit Cost Worksheet  
for Employees and Legislators 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Medical Plan 

Who is Eligible? 
Employees, legislators, retirees, COBRA members, and  dependents (spouse, 
domestic partner, children) are eligible for the medical plan.  Employees are 
required to be enrolled in medical coverage unless they waive the entire benefit 
package.  For dependent eligibility, see page 7. 

Plan Includes: 
 One vision and eye health evaluation per Plan member each year for $10 at an 

in-network provider 

 URx Prescription Drug Coverage (this benefit is administered by Medimpact—
NOT CIGNA) 

 Use of all Montana Health Centers at no cost 

 No cost health screening provided by CareHere 

 Capitol Plan 

Employee $845 

Employee & Spouse $1,070 

Employee & Kids $935 

Employee & Family $1,134 

Joint Core $873 

The amount below will be subtracted from the 
State Share ($887) to see what, if any, cost the 

Plan member will pay per month. 

Employees receive 26 paychecks / year.  
Contributions come out of 24 paychecks / year 

Plan Cost 

Capitol Plan 
Provider 

Charge 

Allowed 

Fee 

Plan 

Pays 
You Pay 

Amount Applied 

Toward 

Amount Applied 

Toward Max Out-

Office Visit $100 $80 $60 $20 $0 $20 

MRI $1000 $930 $135 $795 $750 
$795 (includes 

deductible) 

Lab work $120 $90 $67.50 
$22.50 

(25% of the allowable) 
$0 (Deductible 

met above) 
$22.50 

Total $1220 $1100 $262.50 $837.50 $750 $837.50 

Montana Health Center You Pay 

Office Visit $0 

MRI (With referral made by MHC provider) $0 

Lab work $0 

Total $0 

One Plan for all! 
The Capitol Plan now combines Cigna’s vast group of in-network providers, low 
co-pays and deductibles, and additional services like naturopathic care from last 
year’s Classic Plan to create the right plan for you.  

Keep the Montana Health Center in mind! 

Member Cost: 

For more information about the 
Montana Health Center, see pg. 18 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

  In-Network Out-of-Network 

Office Visit $20 copayment 35% + balance billing 

Annual Deductible 
(Counts towards Annual 

Max Out-of-Pocket) 
Applies 1/1/15 — 12/31/15 

$750/member 

$1,750/family 

A separate $1,250/member 

A separate $2,750/family 

Coinsurance % 25% 35% + balance billing 

Annual Max Out-of-
Pocket 

$3,300/member 

$6,600/family 

A separate $4,950/member 

A separate $10,900/family + 
balance billing 

Annual URx Max Out-
of-Pocket 

$1,650/member       $3,300/Family 

In-Network Cost Example 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Plan Details—What the Member Pays  

1 Developmental delays are not covered 

Office/Routine Care     

  In-Network Out-of-Network 

Office visits—Includes specialists and naturopathic $20—Covers office visit 
charge only 

35% + balance billing 

Professional outpatient physical, occupational, cardiac, 
pulmonary, & speech therapy (max 30 combined days/yr) 

$20/visit1 (copayment 
applies to each visit) 

35% + balance billing1 
(coinsurance applies to 
each visit) 

Professional Lab/Diagnostic/Injectables 25% (no deductible on 
injectables without an office 
visit) 

35% + balance billing 

Durable medical equipment and prosthetics—May require prior 
authorization 

25%  35% + balance billing  

Allergy shots $20 for office visit + 25% 
coinsurance (no deductible; 
if no office visit) 

35% + balance billing 

Routine Vision Exam (One per member per Plan Year)-If exam is 
medical, deductible and coinsurance apply. Talk to your provider to 
find out if your exam is considered routine. 

$10 Balance billing for cost 
over $45 

Preventive Services     

Adult preventive services—See  P. 13 for more details $0 35% + balance billing (No 
deductible for 
mammograms) 

Adult Immunizations (such as flu and pneumonia) $0 35% + balance billing 

Well child checkups and immunizations—See the schedule listed in 
the Summary Plan Document 

$0 35% + balance billing 

Emergency and Urgent Care Services     

Ambulance services for medical emergency 25% 25% + balance billing 

Emergency department and hospital charges—Copayment includes 
all services (no deductible or coinsurance); copayment waived if 
admitted, then all inpatient benefits apply. 

$250/visit for facility  
charges+$100 for physician 
services 

$250/visit for facility 
charges +$100 for 
physician services + 
balance billing 

Emergency department professional and ancillary charges N/A Balance billing 

Urgent care facility and professional charges $35 (covers visit charge only) $35 (covers visit charge 
only) + balance billing 

Urgent care ancillary (lab/diagnostic/surgical charges) 25% 25% + balance billing 

Hospital Care     

Inpatient services 25% 35% + balance billing 

Outpatient services and Surgical Center Services  25% 35% + balance billing 

Organ transplant—Prior authorization, pre-certification, case 
management are required. Services must be rendered at a Life 
Source network facility 

25% Not covered 

=Must meet deductible before coinsurance applies. 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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3 Residential services are not covered 

 In-Network Out-of-Network 

Mental Health and Substance Abuse     

Outpatient professional services—EAP benefits apply for the first 4 
visits in-network; see page 27 

Visits 1 - 4 no charge; then 
$20/visit (covers office visit 
charge only) 

35% + balance billing 

Inpatient services3 25% 35% + balance billing 

Maternity Services     

Hospital charges 25% 35% + balance billing 

Physician charges 25% 35%+ balance billing 

Ultrasounds 25% 35% + balance billing 

Routine Newborn Care     

Inpatient hospital and physician charges for routine newborn care 25% 35% + balance billing 

Extended Care Services  (prior authorization recommended)     

Home health care (Max 70 Days/Plan Year) 25% 35%  

Hospice 25% 35% + balance billing 

Skilled nursing (Max 70 Days/Plan Year) 25%  35% + balance billing 

Inpatient rehabilitation (max 60 days per Plan Year total) See the 
SPD for details3 

25% 35% + balance billing 

Miscellaneous Services     

Dietary/Nutritional counseling Max 3 days/Plan Year $0 (no deductible, no 
coinsurance) 

35% + balance billing 

Chiropractic/Acupuncture (combined maximum of 20 days/Plan 
Year) 

$20/day 35% + balance billing 

PKU supplies 25% 35% + balance billing 

TMJ treatment—Requires prior authorization 25% Surgical only Not covered 

=Must meet deductible before coinsurance applies. 

STATE OF MONTANA HIPAA NOTICE OF PRIVACY PRACTICES 
 

The State of Montana HIPAA Notice is available on our website www.benefits.mt.gov. 

If you have any questions about your privacy rights, please contact the Health Plan at the following address: 

Contact Office or Person:    Amber Godbout, Privacy Official       

Health Plan Name:   State of Montana Employee Benefit Plan 

Telephone:    (406) 444-7462 (in Helena) or (800) 287-8266; TTY (406) 444-1421 

email:     agodbout@mt.gov 

Address:    Health Care and Benefits Division 
       PO Box 200130 
       Helena, MT 59620-0130          

Copies of the HIPAA Notice are also available at 100 North Park Avenue, Suite 320, Helena, MT 59601.  You may 
request the Notice by calling Health Care and Benefits or sending a request by email to the above address.   

DISCLAIMER 

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) was enacted on March 23, 2010.  The United States Departments of Health 
and Human Services, Labor, and Treasury have issued regulations to help entities comply with PPACA.  However, additional 
clarifications to address issues that may arise under these regulations could also be published by the Departments on an on-going 
manner through administrative guidance possibly in another form than a regulation.  Where the statutes or regulations were not clear 
regarding benefits, the State of Montana made a reasonable interpretation of the act and made a good faith effort to comply with the 
statutes and regulations.  The State of Montana reserves the right to alter provisions of this document and its plan in order to comply 
with applicable law. 

Plan Details—What the Member Pays Continued 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/1.files/hipaa.notice.pdf
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Periodic exams—Appropriate screening tests (see the Summary Plan Document for a full list of tests) 

Well child care 
Infant through age 17 

Age 0 months through 4 year—up to 14 visits 
Age 5 years through 17 years—one visit per Plan Year 

Adult routine exam 
Exams may include screening/counseling 
and/or risk factor reduction interventions 
for depression, obesity, tobacco use, drug 
and/or alcohol abuse 

Age 18 through 65+—one visit per Plan Year 

Preventive screenings  

Anemia screening (CBC) Pregnant women 

Bacteruria screening (UA) Pregnant women 

Breast cancer screening (mammography) Women age 40+—one per Plan Year 

Cervical cancer screening (PAP) Women age 21 through 65—one per Plan Year 

Cholesterol screening (lipid profile) 
Men age 35+ (age 20-35 if risk factors for coronary heart disease are present) 
Women age 45+ (age 20-45 if risk factors for coronary heart disease are present) 

Colorectal cancer screening age 50+ 

Fecal occult blood testing once per Plan Year; OR 
Sigmoidoscopy every 5 years; OR members age 50 years old or older may 
receive one colonoscopy per Plan Year regardless of diagnosis at zero cost if 
provided by an in-network provider.  Any additional services related to the 
colonoscopy (i.e. laboratory, surgical, radiology) services are subject to 
deductible and coinsurance. Out-of-network services are subject to regular 
benefits and colonoscopies billed as preventive will only be allowed every 10 
years for age 50 or older.  Preventive colonoscopies for members under age 
50 are not covered unless the member meets the medical policy criteria 
established by the Third Party Administrator.  

Prostate cancer screening (PSA) age 50+ One per Plan Year (age 40+ with risk factors) 

Osteoporosis screening 
Post menopausal women—65+ (60+ with risk factors)—one  bone density  
x-ray (DXA) every two years 

Abdominal aneurysm screening 
Men age 65-75 who have ever smoked—one screening by ultrasound per 
Plan Year 

Diabetes screening (fasting A1C) Adults with high blood pressure 

HIV screening 
STD screening 

Pregnant women and others at risk 
Persons at risk 

RH incompatibility screening Pregnant women 

Routine immunizations  

Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTaP; Tdap; TD), haemophilus influenza (HIB), hepatitis A & B, human papillomavirus 
(HPV), influenza, measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), meningococcal, pneumococcal (pneumonia), poliovirus, rotavirus, 
varicella (smallpox); for age 50 and older: zoster (shingles)  

Covered Preventive Services 

Age and gender appropriate preventive care from an in-network provider is 
covered at 100% of the allowed amount without any deductible, 
coinsurance, or copayment for Plan members.   

This complies with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Prescription Medication Highlights ($1,650 individual/$3,300 family Out-of-Pocket Maximum) 

URx Drug Classification  
Value based on medical 

evidence 
Drug Tier Deductible 

Retail Rx 
30 day supply 

What you pay  

Mail Rx 
90 day supply 

What you pay 

Excellent  A $0 $0 copayment $0 copayment 

High  B $0 $15 copayment $30 copayment 

Good  C $0 $40 copayment $80 copayment 

Lower  D $0 50% coinsurance1 50% coinsurance1 

Lowest  F $0 100% coinsurance1 100% coinsurance1 

Specialty drugs S 
$0 

 

 

Diplomat—$150 or $250 
copayment  

Pharmacy other than Diplomat —
50% coinsurance1 

Not covered 

Specialty F SF Not Covered Not Covered Not Covered 

Administered by MedImpact (888) 648-6764 
https://mp.medimpact.com/mtn  

Prescription Drug Plan 

What is URx? 
URx is your prescription drug benefit.  It is administered by 
MedImpact, NOT CIGNA. You are enrolled in URx when 
you enroll in the medical plan.  
 

How Does URx Work? 
URx aims to make sure members get the best drug for 
them at the best price. Just because a drug costs more, 
does NOT mean the drug is better.   

The Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee (PTAC) 
evaluates drugs based on proven clinical results and 
financial value to the Plan and member and places drugs in 
tiers.   
 

Drug Tiers 
Look up the tier of your drug at: https://mp.medimpact.com/
mtn. Then, talk to your doctor about the options for your 
medication.   

If your drug falls into the D or F tiers, consider asking your 
doctor for an alternative from the A, B, or C tiers.  If no 
alternative is available, you can apply for an exception by 
filling out the URx Plan Exception form found at 
www.benefits.mt.gov.  

Most Drugs Are Covered 
MedImpact negotiates discounts with pharmaceutical 
companies.  These discounts will be passed on to you 
regardless of the class of your drug.  The vast majority of 
drugs, including those that were not formerly covered, have 
a discount.  
 

SAVE BIG with Mail Order Pharmacies  
You can get a three month supply of some medication for 
the price of two months! 

The Plan pays less for many medications through mail 
order pharmacies MedVantx and Ridgeway.  We pass 
those savings on to you.   
MedVantx  (877) 870-MONT (6668) 
Ridgeway  (800) 630-3214 
 

Specialty Pharmacy 
Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy is the Plan’s preferred 
pharmacy to handle specialty medications (drugs that 
require special administration).  Using a pharmacy other 
than Diplomat for specialty medications could cost 
significantly more. 

Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy  (877) 319-6337 

Questions about drug tiers, alternative medications, or drug interactions? 

Call the URx Ask-a-Pharmacist program Monday-Friday 8am-5pm 

888-527-5879  

1Does not count toward your out-of-pocket maximum. 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

https://mp.medimpact.com/mtn
https://mp.medimpact.com/mtn
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Dental Plan Options 
There are two dental plan options.  Both dental plans 
cover two cleanings and exams per member per Plan 
Year at 100% of the allowable charge at an in-network 
provider. Cleanings and exams do not count toward the 
Type A maximum.  
 
Basic Plan 
Yearly maximums1 per Plan member: 
 Type A-$600 (No Deductible) 
 Type B & C and Implants—Not covered 
 
Premium Plan  
Annual maximums1 per Plan member: 
 Type A-$600 (No Deductible) 
 Type B & C-$1,200 ($50 deductible per Plan member/$150 per 

family per calendar year) 
 Implants-$1,500 Lifetime Limit 
1
After the plan pays the annual maximum, you are responsible for 100% of 

the cost of services. 
 

Eligibility: Employees, Legislators, Retirees2, and eligible dependents. 
2
Retirees under age 65 are required to elect a dental plan unless they waive the 

entire benefits package; once Medicare eligible, dental coverage is optional. 

 Basic Plan Premium Plan 

Member only $22 $40 

Member and spouse $34 $61 

Member and children $32.50 $59.50 

Member and family $37.50 $68.50 

Joint Core   $26 $47 

Dental 
(866) 496-2370  
www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana  

Delta Dental Networks 

Plan Cost 

Find an in-network dentist, view claims, 
check benefits, and manage your profile 

online and on your mobile phone 

www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana 

Benefits and Covered Services Limitations / Maximums 

Type A—Diagnostic & Preventive 

(D&P)
3
 

One full mouth x-ray and series in any 5 year period 

These services are not subject to  Two sets of supplementary bitewing x-rays in a benefit period 

the annual maximum. Two exams and/or cleanings in any Plan Year (fluoride application through age 19) 

Type A Services No deductible; $600 annual maximum for Basic and Premium Plans 

Sealants, amalgam fillings, etc.
3
 Sealants limited to covered dependents through age 15; may be applied to molars once per 

tooth per lifetime.  

Type B Services 
Endodontics, periodontics, 
extractions, oral surgery, composite 
fillings, etc.

3
 

Type B Services are only covered under the Premium Plan.  

Type C Services 
Crowns, bridges, initial dentures, etc.

3
 

Type C Services are only covered under the Premium Plan.  

Type C—Implants
3
 Implants are only covered under the Premium Plan. Implants have a separate $1,500 

lifetime maximum for those on the premium Plan.  

Proferred Provider (PPO) $ 
You usually pay the least when you 
visit a PPO dentist because they agree 
to accept the allowable charge. 
 

 

Premier $$ 
Premier dentists accept a slightly 
higher allowable charge than PPO 
dentists.  You pay a percentage of this 
higher fee.   

 

Non-Network $$$ 
If you see a non-Delta Dental dentist, 
you will be responsible for the 
difference between the allowable 
charge and what that dentist billed.   
 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

3See the Summary Plan Document (SPD) for a full list of covered services and limitations. 

http://www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana/
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Basic Plan  

Benefits and Covered Services PPO dentist Premier dentist 
Non-participating 
dentist  

Type A Diagnostic & Preventive1 
(D&P)—Does not count toward 
type A maximum 

2 cleanings and exams 
per plan year at no cost 

2 cleanings and exams 
per plan year at no cost 

2 cleanings and exams per 
plan year at no cost + 
Balance billing 

Type A Services1 
0% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2 

0% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2 

0% + any costs incurred 
after annual maximum is 
met2 + Balance billing  

Type B & C Services1—NOT 
COVERED (You pay full charged 
amount) 

100% 100% 100% 

What You Pay 

Premium Plan   

Benefits and Covered Services PPO dentist Premier dentist 
Non-participating 
dentist 

Type A Diagnostic & Preventive1 

(D&P)—Does not count toward 
type A maximum 

2 cleanings and exams 
per plan year at no 
cost 

2 cleanings and exams 
per plan year at no cost 

2 cleanings and exams 
per plan year at no cost + 
balance billing 

Type A Services1
 

0% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2 

0% + any costs incurred 
after annual maximum 
is met2 

0% + any costs incurred 
after annual maximum 
is met2 + Balance billing  

Type B Services1
 

20% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2  

20% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2  

20% up to annual 
maximum2 + balance 
billing 

Type C Services1
 

50% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2  

50% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2 

50% + any costs 
incurred after annual 
maximum is met2 + 
balance billing 

 

Dental Continued 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

Why Preventive Care Makes Sense! 
Take advantage of your two no cost cleanings and 
exams per year at an in-network dentist! 

1 
See the SPD on www.benefits.mt.gov for a full list of types A, B, and C services  

2 
See p. 15 for annual maximum amounts and limitations.  After the plan pays the annual maximum, you are responsible 

for 100% of the cost of services. 

=Must meet deductible before coinsurance applies. 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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All members covered on the medical plan get one routine vision and eye health evaluation each year for $10 at an in-
network provider. 

Members must re-enroll each year for the Vision Hardware Plan. 

Vision Hardware Plan (Optional)  

Coverage In-Network Out-of-Network

Materials Copayment Member pays $20 N/A

Frame Retail Allowance one every two Plan Years instead of 

contact lenses
Plan Pays: Up to $130 Plan Pays: Up to $52

Lenses Allowance 
 
Plastic or glass eyeglass lenses—one pair per Plan Year instead 
of contact lenses  
Standard Polycarbonate lenses (covered for under 18)—one pair 
per Plan Year instead of contact lenses
Single Vision ,Bifocal, Trifocal, Lenticular—one pair per Plan 
Year instead of contact lenses  

 Plan Pays: 
 100% after Copayment

 
100% after Copayment

 
100% after Copayment

Plan Pays: 
Up to $45

 
Up to $65

 
Up to $80

Contact Lenses Allowances—one time benefit per Plan Year 
instead of lenses or lenses and frames
Elective Therapeutic (must meet medically necessary criteria)

Plan Pays: 
$130
100%

Plan Pays: 
Up to $95
Up to $210

Make sure your doctor and your LAB are 
in network! It’s important to check both by 
calling (877) 478-7557 or going online 
https://cigna.vsp.com. 

Network: 
Cigna Vision Network.  Check their website https://cigna.vsp.com to 
see all the in-network providers.  
Note: Cigna’s vision provider network is slightly different from it’s 
network of labs that make vision hardware (VSP). Be sure to check that 
both your eye doctor and lab are in-network. 
 
Who is Eligible? 
Employees, retirees, legislators, COBRA members, and dependents 
covered on the medical plan. You must re-enroll in vision hardware 
each year! 
 
New for 2015!  
If you choose vision hardware coverage, it will apply to everyone covered on your medical Plan.  For example, if your 
plan covers “Member and spouse”, but your spouse doesn’t wear glass, you will still pay $10.86/month if you elect the 
Vision Hardware Plan. 
 
More Details 
For full details on the 2015 Vision Plan, visit www.benefits.mt.gov and click on Vision under the Employees tab. 

Vision Hardware 2015 Monthly Cost 

Member only $5.76 

Member and spouse $10.86 

Member and children $11.42 

Member and family $16.76 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

https://cigna.vsp.com/signon.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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The Montana Health Centers 
Billings, Miles City, Missoula, Helena 

The Montana Health Centers operated by CareHere offer no cost primary care services and health coaching 
to help you on your journey to a healthier lifestyle. 
 
Services 
 Primary care 
 Same day services with appointment 
 Flu shots and other vaccinations 
 Health screenings 
 Lab services 
 Diagnostic service referral 
 Health coaching 
 Much more 

Wellness Coaching 
 Registered Nurse-Blood pressure, asthma, and medication 

management, etc. 
 Registered Dietitian-Diabetes, weight loss, and cholesterol 

management, etc. 
 Exercise Physiologist-Exercise, including getting started 
 Tobacco Cessation Coach 
 Behavioral Health Coach-Stress and Employee Assistance 

Program 

Who Can Use Montana Health Centers 
Active employees and non-Medicare retirees and their dependents age two and older who are covered on the 
Plan may receive all available services at any Montana Health Center location. 
Medicare retirees may only use the Health Center for flu shots and health screenings. 
Employees injured at work may also go to the Montana Health Center. 

To schedule or change an appointment 
ONLINE: 

www.carehere.com 

The first time you go to 
www.carehere.com, you will need to 
register.  The system will ask you for your 
code.  The code is MANA9. 
 
You may edit or delete your appointment at 
any time prior to the appointment time.  
And you can always call (855) 200-6822 to 
make your appointment at the health 
center.   

Helena (406) 502-1355 
helena.montana@carehere.com 
405 Saddle Dr Helena, MT 59601 
Fax (406) 206-0304 
Mon - Fri 7am-6 pm 
Sat 7:30 am-4:30 pm 
 
Billings (406) 969-5115 
billings.montana@carehere.com 
1501 14th St West, Suite 230 Billings, MT 59102 
Fax (406) 969-5118 
Mon - Fri 7am-6 pm 
 

Miles City (406) 234-0123 
milescity.montana@carehere.com 
515 Main St Miles City, MT 59301 
Fax (406) 234-0278 
Mon 8 am-5 pm, Tues 7 am-11 am, Wed 8 am- 5 pm  
Thurs 7am-6 pm, Fri 7 am- 6pm 
Sat 8 am-12 pm and 1 pm-5 pm 
 
Missoula (406) 926-6720 
missoula.mt@carehere.com 
1211 S Reserve, Suite 202, Missoula, MT 59801 
Fax (406) 206-0317 
Mon - Thurs 7 am-6 pm, Fri 9 am-6 pm, Sat 8 am-1 pm  

New! Montana based customer service for ALL Montana Health Centers  

Call: (855) 200-6822 or E-mail: help.montana@carehere.com  

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

Visit benefits.mt.gov/pages/health.center.html for provider bios and more! 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/wellness.live.life.well.html#flu.shot
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/health.screenings.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/health.center.html
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2014 Live Life Well Incentive 

*Double Your Money 
If you have a dependent age 18 or older or spouse/domestic partner on your Plan and he/she 
completes the activities above and completes the certification steps, it doubles your discount—to a 
potential maximum of $60/month off per policyholder (up to $120 maximum for Joint Core 
members). 

Activity Certification Step 

$10 Health Screening/Assessment 
Discount (Two steps) 

Complete a State-sponsored health 
screening with CareHere as soon as 
possible AND complete the Cigna Online 
Health Assessment by October 31.   

Health Care and Benefits will be automatically 
notified if you’ve completed these steps.   
Want to double check? 
 Health Screening-Call CareHere (855)200-

6822 
 Cigna Online Health Assessment-Log in to 

www.mycigna.com or call 1-855-692-0131 

$10 Tobacco Free Discount 
Get your health screening, complete 
the Cigna Online Health Assessment, 
AND be tobacco free and report it on 
the Cigna Online Health Assessment 
OR complete the Cigna or Montana 
Health Center tobacco cessation 
program and return the form by 
October 31, 2014. 

 If you indicated that you are tobacco free on 
your Cigna Online Health Assessment, Health 
Care and Benefits will be automatically 
notified.  

 If you completed a tobacco cessation 
program through Cigna or the Montana 
Health Center between January 1, 2014 and 
October 31, 2014, even if you still smoke, you 
can still get the discount by filling out the 
Tobacco Cessation Program Completion 
Certification Form found on benefits.mt.gov 
under Forms. 

$10 Next Steps Discount 
Get your health screening, complete 
the Cigna Online Health Assessment, 

AND complete at least three of the following 
activities. (You will report them during 
Annual Change.) 

 Make an appointment with a health 
coach at a Montana Health Center or join 
an online lifestyle/condition management 
program through Cigna, CareHere or 
HCBD. 

 Exercise an average of three days a 
week, 15 minutes a day. 

 Get a dental exam. 
 Get an eye exam. 
 Update a vaccine (flu shot, tetanus, etc.). 
 Get a routine annual physical exam. 

1. Log in to the MINE site.  
2. Click “Employee Self Service” 
3. Click “Next Steps Discount” under “Benefits” 
4. Follow instructions on the Next Steps 

Discount Page. 

Earn up to $30/month* off your 2015 monthly benefits payment by completing these activities before 
October 31st!  Here’s how to let us know what you’ve done to earn the incentive. 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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2015 Live Life Well Incentive 

*Double your money! If you have a dependent age 18 or older or spouse/domestic partner on your Plan 

and he/she completes the activities above and the required certification steps, it doubles your discount—to a 
potential maximum of $60/month off per policy holder (up to $120 maximum for Joint Core members). 

See our Frequently Asked Questions page for more details!  
benefits.mt.gov/pages/incentive.faqs.html 

$10 Tobacco Free Discount 
Get your health screening, be tobacco free, and report it on the Cigna Online Health 
Assessment or complete the Cigna or Montana Health Center tobacco cessation 
program by Oct. 31, 2015. 

$10 Next Steps Discount 
Get your health screening, complete the Cigna Online Health Assessment, AND 
complete at least FOUR of the following activities. (You will report them during 
Annual Change.) 
 Make an appointment with a health coach at a Montana Health Center or join an 

online lifestyle/condition management program through Cigna, CareHere or HCBD. 
 Exercise an average of three days a week, 15 minutes a day. 
 Get a dental exam. 
 Get an eye exam. 
 Update a vaccine (flu shot, tetanus, etc.). 
 Get a routine annual physical exam.  

 

*Proof of these activities may be required.  See FAQ link below for more details. 

To schedule a Health Screening go to www.carehere.com, call (855) 200-6822, or email 
help.montana@carehere.com 

 

    To complete the Cigna Online Health Assessment go to www.myCigna.com,  
    call (855)692-0131, or email stateofmontana@cigna.com 

Next year’s incentive program is the same, but you must complete FOUR Next 
Step Activities to get the full discount!  See below: 

$10 Health Screening/Assessment Discount 
Complete a State-sponsored health screening with CareHere AND complete the Cigna 
Online Health Assessment  with your health screening results between Jan 1, 2015 and 
Oct. 31, 2015. 

Earn up to $30/month* off your 2016 monthly benefits payment 
by completing these activities before October 31, 2015! 

benefits.mt.gov/pages/incentive.faqs.html
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Flexible Spending Accounts 

Is an FSA right for me?  
FSAs are for anyone who has out-of-pocket medical, dental, vision, hearing, or dependent care expenses 
beyond what the health Plan covers.   
Estimate the expenses that you know will occur during the year.  These include out-of-pocket expenses for 
yourself and anyone claimed as a dependent on your taxes.   
If you have $100 or more in recurring or predictable expenses, an FSA can help you stretch your dollars.   
For details on who is eligible for Flexible Spending Accounts, refer to the Summary Plan Document. 

NEW FOR 2015! $500 Flex Rollover 
The IRS now allows you to rollover $500 of Medical FSA from one year to another.  This applies starting from 
2014 into 2015.   

Other Info 
 $120/year minimum for both types of FSA 
 $2.26/month fee for one or both types of FSA 
 $1/month fee for debit card  

Save money by anticipating your family’s costs for 2015. If you enroll in a Medical or Dependent Care Flexible Spending 
Account (FSA), your contributions are taken out of each paycheck—before taxes—in equal installments throughout the 
Plan Year and put into medical and/or dependent care FSA accounts.   

Medical/Dependent Care FSA(s) Worksheets 
Review your Explanation of Benefits (EOB) to get an idea of how much you spent in the last 12 months on 
health care. The amount you select is taken from your paychecks in 24 installments—first from any unused 
state share, and then from your gross pay (before taxes)—and deposited into your FSA.   

Medical FSA Worksheet Up to $2,500/yr 
 

Common Medical Expenses      2015 Estimates 
 

Estimated Medical  Costs       $__________ 
(deductibles, copayments, coinsurance)  
 

Estimated Dental Costs                    $__________ 
 

Estimated Vision Costs                     $__________ 
 

Estimated Prescription Costs            $__________                
 

Total Estimated 2015 Medical FSA  $__________ 

Dependent Care FSA Worksheet to $5K 
 

Monthly Care Expenses 
 

Infant Expenses                         $________ 
 

Preschool Expenses                    $________ 
 

Before and After School Care              $________ 
 

School Vacation Care                       $________ 
 

Total Monthly Expenses                    $________  
                                              x 12  
 

Total Estimated 2015 Dependent Care FSA    $_______ 

Important! 
Be sure your total estimated amounts for Medical or 

Dependent Care FSAs can be divided evenly by 24 (the 
number of deductions in the Plan Year) 

Medical FSA 
Annual maximum contribution per employee 
$2,5001+$5002 rollover.  Can be used for: 
 Deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance 
 Prescription drug costs 
 Dental and vision 
 Non-covered medical expenses 
 See a complete list by visiting 

www.allegianceflexadvantage.com 
1 Only $500 of your FSA contribution can come from 
excess state share. 
2
Entire yearly contribution becomes accessible the 

2nd paycheck of January. $500 rollover not available 
until after 120 day period to claim 2014 expenses. 

Dependent Care FSA  
Dependent Care FSA CANNOT be used for any 
medical expenses. 
Annual maximum contribution per employee $5,000 
or $2,5003 if married but filing taxes separately.  Can 
be used for: 
 Child care (age 12 and under) 
 Disabled dependent care 
3Funds available only as contributed starting the 2nd 
paycheck of January. 

Remember:  Medical FSA funds cannot be used 
for dependent care, and Dependent Care FSA 
funds cannot be used for medical expenses. 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

Your child’s change in enrollment from the State of 
Montana Health Plan to HMK is NOT considered a 

qualifying event to change the amount your State of 
Montana Flexible Spending Account (FSA) contribution. 

(See I.R.S. Publication 969 (2009); I.R.C. § 125) 

http://www.allegianceflexadvantage.com/Participant/P_WhatIsEligible.asp
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Flexible Spending Accounts Continued 

An FSA Example 
Mary is a single mother of two earning 
$42,000 per year ($3,500 gross per 
month).  Her older child will get braces, 
and Mary will pay the orthodontist $150 
per month.  Mary takes a prescribed 
drug that costs $50 per month.  Her 
younger child attends preschool while 
Mary is at work, and Mary pays $300 
per month to the daycare provider.  
Mary’s total qualified medical and de-
pendent care expenses come to $500 
per month. 
This table is a comparison of Mary’s 
monthly take-home pay without FSAs 
versus her take-home pay if she enrolls 
in FSAs.  Participation in FSAs puts an 
extra $140 in Mary’s pocket each month 
($1,680 per year). 

Administered by Allegiance Benefit Plan 
Management • (866) 339-4310  

(406) 523-3149 or FAX (877) 424-3539  
www.allegianceflexadvantage.com 

 No FSA With FSA 

Gross pay $3,500 $3,500 

FSA election $0 $500 

FSA Fee $2.26/month $0 $2.26 

Taxable pay $3,500 $2,997.74 

Fed Tax
1
 $314 $242 

State Tax
1
 $154 $124 

FICA $268 $230 

Net pay $2,764 $2,401.74 

Prescription
2
 $50 $0 

Braces
2
 $150 $0 

Day care $300 $0 

$ in Mary’s pocket $2,264 $2,401.74 
1tax based on 2013 Federal and Montana payroll tax withholding tables, claiming 3 

allowances, and the current 7.65% FICA/Medicare rate.    
2Without an FSA, medical expenses are only deductible if they exceed 7.5% (over 65 
years old) 10% (under 65 years old) of your adjusted gross income.  

FSA Reimbursement Options 

Traditional 
File claims with Allegiance by fax, mail, or securely through 
the Allegiance website.  
 
Joint Processing  
Cigna automatically forwards your portion of claims to 
Allegiance until your flex funds are gone.  
This eliminates the paperwork of filing a claim or the time 
spent online submitting a claim.   
If you use flex funds to pay for items later in the year like a 
child’s braces, this option may not be the best for you.     
If you select joint processing on medical flex, your must file 
paper forms for dependent care flex. 
 

Debit Card 
Used just like a regular debit card for any qualified medical 
expense.  You are responsible for keeping all receipts in 
case you are audited.   
If you select the debit card:  

 You must use it for both 
Medical and Dependent 
Care if you have both. 

 You can always file 
paper forms  

 $1/month fee for debit 
card 

Keep in mind that gross earnings for determining Social Security benefits 
may be reduced by Pre-tax deductions.  Consult your tax advisor.  

You must RE-ENROLL 
each year for FSA  

Mid Year Changes 
If you’ve had a qualifying event, it’s important to know what you can and can’t change about your flex. 
Generally, if you add someone to your plan, you can only increase your FSA contributions.  If you delete someone from 
your plan, you can only decrease your FSA contributions.  For more details, contact Allegiance (see contact info below.) 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://www.allegianceflexadvantage.com/
https://www.abpmtpa.com/flexonline/FlexDebitCardeeonly.aspx
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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 Plans are term life.   
 They provide inexpensive protection but do not earn any cash value.  
 A member may carry all life Plans until separation from employment.  At separation, contact The Standard for 

conversion or portability options.   
 At retirement, only Plan A—Basic Life— can be continued until age 65 or Medicare eligible.  

Life Insurance 

 Plans Monthly Contributions 

Plan A:       Basic Life $1.90 per month 

Plan B:   Dependent Life $0.52 per month  

Plan C:   Optional Employee Life (every $1,000 of coverage) x (Age Rate)  

Plan D:   Optional Spouse Life (every $1,000 of coverage) x (Age Rate)  

Plan E:  AD&D—Employee only $0.020 / $1,000 of coverage 

             AD&D—Employee plus dependents $0.030 / $1,000 of coverage 

Plan A – Basic Life 
 Core benefit for state employees  
 $1.90/month 
 $14,000 of term-life coverage 
 
Plan B – Dependent Life 
 Available during 31-day enrollment period, or within the first 60 days of marrying or having your first child 
 $0.52/month  
 $2,000 of coverage for a spouse 
 $1,000 of coverage per dependent child.   
 
Plan C – Optional Employee Life 
 Available during 31-day enrollment period without EOI

1
 up to the member’s annual salary.  

 Enrollment after the 31 days requires EOI
1
.   

 Minimum of your annual salary rounded to the next highest $5,000 up to $500,000 with EOI
1
.   

 During Annual Change, those employees with existing Plan C coverage may add an extra $5,000 or $10,000 to 
their coverage without EOI

1
 each year up to the cap of $500,000 .   

 
Plan D – Optional Spouse Life 
 May make a NEW election of Plan D coverage of  up to $10,000 without EOI

1
 during 31-day enrollment period and 

annual change. 
 Employee must be enrolled in Plan C for the spouse to be eligible for Plan D.   
 Spouse’s rate is based on the employee’s age, not the spouse’s age.   
 Coverage is for a minimum of $5,000.  
 Additional amounts are available in $5,000 increments, up to the amount of optional employee Plan C.  
 If increasing to existing coverage EOI

1
 required 

 
Plan E—Optional Accidental Death & Dismemberment 
 Available without EOI

1
.  

 Employee Only:  $25,000-$500,000 in increments of $25,000 up to 10 times your annual 
salary rounded down to the next $25,000.   

 Employee and Dependents: A spouse with no children is eligible for 50% of the 
employee coverage.  A spouse with children is eligible for 40% of the employee coverage. 
Children are eligible for 10% of the employee coverage.    

1
Evidence of Insurability (EOI) is a medical application to prove good health.   

Age Rates for Plans C & D 
Based on employee’s age on 

the last day of the month 
that  

contributions are paid*  
0-29...… $0.025 

30-34…… $0.042 
35-39…… $0.067 
40-44…… $0.084 
45-49…… $0.126 
50-54…… $0.193 
55-59…… $0.361 
60-64…… $0.554 
65+ $0.823 

*The first payment after the 
employee’s birthday will 

reflect the new rate. 

Who Is Eligible?  Basic Life Insurance is a core benefit for all active 
employees, legislators, and non-Medicare retirees.  Optional life 
insurance and Accidental Death & Dismemberment are available for 
employees, spouses, and dependents.  Refer to the SPD for more 
information on eligibility.  

During Annual Change You May: 
 Delete Plans B, C, D,  and E.  
 Decrease coverage in Plan C down to 

your annual salary, rounded to the 
next highest  $5,000 increment. 

 Apply for, increase, or decrease 
coverage under Plans C and D. 

 Add, increase, or decrease Plan E. 

(800) 759-8702  

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

Fully insured and 
administered by  

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Online Life Insurance Beneficiary Designation 

Part 1: Adding Beneficiary Options 

Designate your life insurance beneficiaries online through the SABHRS Self-Service application!  
It is important that you follow the steps below to ensure your life beneficiary designations are up to date. 
If you have not already designated your life Insurance beneficiary online, your beneficiaries are kept on a paper file with 
your payroll or Human Resource office.  

To Access from a State 
computer 

1.  Log in to mine.mt.gov 
2.  Click on “Employee Self 
Service” 
3.  Click on “Benefits” 
4.  Click on “Life Beneficiary 
Designation” 

Part 2: Making Your Life Insurance Beneficiary Designation 
1.  Click the magnifying glass to start! 
2.  Chose a name from the list to designate.  (If 
the person you want to designate does not 
appear, click “Cancel” and then click “Add a 
Beneficiary Option”) 
3. Select if you want the person to be a “Primary” 
or “Contingent” from the dropdown box. 
     -You are not required to chose contingents. 
4. Type the percent of life insurance you want that 
person to receive.  
     -The percent total for Primary and Contingent 
(if you add a contingent) beneficiaries must equal 
100. 
5. Click “+” to add a beneficiary.  Click “-” to 
remove a beneficiary. 
6. Click Update to see the percent totals for 
Primary and Contingent beneficiaries. 
7. Read the terms and check the box next to “I 
Agree.” 
8. Click “Save” to make your designations official. 

To Access from Home 

 Go to the State Employee 

Access page at 
www.mt.gov/Employee 

 Click MINE Employee Self 
Service Portal 
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Benefit Amount 
The monthly LTD benefit is 60% of your insured pre-
disability earnings—the amount you were earning before 
you became disabled—reduced by deductible income. 
 
 

Benefit Duration 
If you become disabled and your claim for LTD benefits is 
approved, LTD benefits are payable after you have been 
continuously disabled for 180 days and remain 
continuously disabled.   

LTD benefits are not payable during this benefit waiting 
period.   

If you become disabled: 

 Before age 60—LTD benefits may continue during 
disability until you reach Social Security Normal 
Retirement Age. 

 60 or older— benefit duration is determined by your 
age when disability begins. 

 60-64 —maximum benefit period is five years. 
 65-68— maximum is to age 70. 
 69 and over—maximum is one year. 

Advantages of Long-Term Disability Coverage 
 
 LTD covers your inability to work in your own 

occupation for the first 24 months you are disabled 
(once you meet the benefit waiting period).  Many other 
policies require you to be totally disabled from all 
occupations. 

 If you are disabled from all occupations after 24 months 
(once you meet the benefit waiting period), benefits 
may continue until you are Social Security Normal 
Retirement Age. 

 LTD provides benefits for covered illnesses or injuries 
that may occur 24 hours a day, both on and off the job. 

 If the group policy terminates, LTD benefits will 
continue as long as you are eligible to receive them. 

 

 
 

1
Evidence of Insurability (EOI) is a medical application to 

prove good health. 

The information in this booklet is only a summary of the LTD benefit.  The controlling provisions 
are the group policy issued by The Standard Insurance Company.  Refer to the LTD policy at 
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications for further information.  

Long Term Disability 

$9.90 per 
member per 

month 
AFTER TAX 

Fully insured and administered by The Standard Insurance Co • (800) 759-8702 • www.standard.com 

MEDEX Travel Assist—also from The Standard 

MEDEX Travel Assist provides pre-trip, medical, travel, legal assistance—and more!   
They can even fly you home if you have a medical emergency!   

All Plan members who have life insurance have this benefit!   
 

Call (800) 527-0218 for more information or check out the Travel Assistance  
brochure at www.benefits.mt.govon our forms page .   

Voluntary Long Term Disability (LTD) is a benefit plan that pays a monthly benefit to you if 
you cannot work because of a covered illness or injury.  This benefit replaces a portion of 
your income, helping you with financial costs in a time of need.   

Who Is Eligible? 
LTD coverage is a voluntary benefit available to active employees who are enrolled 
in the medical Plan.  Retirees, legislators, and COBRA members are not eligible to 
participate.  New hires may enroll within 31 days of being hired without Evidence of 
Insurability (EOI)

1
.  All other applicants must provide EOI

1
.  Refer to the SPD for 

more information on eligibility.  

New for 2015! 
Long Term Disability payments will be taken from your pay AFTER TAX in order to 
maximize the benefit should you ever need it. When money is put into LTD after tax, 
the benefit is paid out tax free. 

More Information 
For more information visit The Standard Insurance Company’s website at www.standard.com.   Also LTD brochures are 
available to provide more information on the Plan.  These brochures can be found on the HCBD website 
www.benefits.mt.gov and click on Long Term Disability under the EMPLOYEES tab or by contacting Health Care and 
Benefits Division at (800) 287-8266, TTY (406) 444-1421, or benefitsquestions@mt.gov. 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan Document (SPD) 
available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
http://www3.standard.com/net/public/Individuals
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/long.term.disability.html
mailto:benefitsquestions@mt.gov
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html
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Live Life Well 
Health Care and Benefits Division (HCBD) coordinates all of the wellness programs available 
to members of the State of Montana health Plan. Members can pick and choose as many Live 
Life Well programs to participate in as they like at no cost. 

Visit www.benefits.mt.gov and click on the Live Life Well tab 
for more information about wellness programs. 

Lifestyle Management Programs 
Live Life Well offers many lifestyle and condition management programs to State of Montana Plan 

members. Completing any of the programs listed below could save you money in 2016 with the Live Life 
Well Discount.  Completing a tobacco cessation program qualifies as both a Next Step activity and 

qualifies you for the Tobacco Free Discount. See p. 20 for more details. 

  
 
 

 
1-855-246-1873 

To sign up for a Cigna program, log into 
www.myCigna.com or call. 

 

 

 

 

1-855-200-6822  

To make an appointment with a health coach: 

1. Have your state sponsored health 
screening. 

2. Have a follow-up appointment with a 
Health Center provider. 

3. Talk to the provider about scheduling an 
appointment with a health coach. 

Weight 

Management 

 

 

Get support to help build your confidence, 
become more active, eat healthier and 
change your habits using a non-diet 
approach. Use the program online, over the 
phone – or both. 

One on one coaching to create a personalized 
program including nutrition and mindful eating 
support with experienced Registered Dieticians 
and exercise and fitness support with 
experienced Exercise Physiologists. 

Stress 

Management 

Understand the sources of your stress and 
learn coping techniques to manage stress 
both on and off the job. Use the program 
online, over the phone – or both. 

Work one on one with a coach to learn critical 
coping skills and get support with life transitions, 
parental support, addiction, and more. 

Tobacco 

Cessation 

Get and stay tobacco free. Develop a 
personal quit plan that’s right for you. Use 
the program online, over the phone – or 
both.  

Individualized quit plan that includes access to 
tobacco cessation medications if deemed 
appropriate by a health care provider and one 
full year of coaching support. 

Disease 

Management 

Make educated decisions on your treatment 
options and more. A health advocate may 
be calling you to get things started, or you 
can call someone at any time.  The 
programs also offer a variety of self-service 
resources to help you better understand 
your condition and overcome barriers to 
better health. 

Teams of healthcare professionals including 
physicians, mental health care providers, 
physician assistants, nurse practitioners, nurses, 
dietitians, fitness experts to give you the best 
overall care.   

Incentive Plans reward you with medical 
supplies at no cost to you and cash rewards. 
Talk with a Montana Health Center provider for a 
full list of incentives for conditions.  
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Weight Watchers 

Members and dependents 18 and over on the Plan get reimbursed up to $75 every two 
years if they meet all the requirements found on the HCBD website www.benefits.mt.gov. 

Cigna Healthy Pregnancies, Healthy Babies® 
1-855-246-1873 
Supports you in managing your pregnancy and keeping you and your baby healthy. 
Get rewarded for a good decision. 

 $250 after delivery if you enroll during your 1st 
trimester 

 $125 after delivery if you enroll during your 2nd 
trimester 

 24/7 over the phone nursing support  

 Preconception information, pregnancy support, infertility coaching  

 Text 511411 to get more! BABY for English, BEBE for Spanish. 
You can get prenatal vitamins at no cost through the URx pharmacy Plan! 
Breastfeeding benefits are also available.  Visit www.benefits.mt.gov and look for “Breastfeeding “ under the Live Life 
Well tab. 

Onsite Presentations 
The health coach comes to you!  Great for conferences, staff meetings, or sessions to address work life wellness issues.  
Popular presentations include stress management, nutrition, safety, and much more! 

Counts as a Next 
Step activity 

Counts as a Next 
Step activity 

Case Management 
1-855-246-1873 
If you have a new or complicated diagnosis, Cigna can help you navigate the system.  
A Nurse Case Manager can: 

 Help you understand your current condition or diagnosis, treatment Plan, and treatment 
options 

 Serve as a patient advocate as questions of care or coverage come up 

 Act as a point of contact to help coordinate care 

 SAVE YOU MONEY by 

 Helping you make the best use of your health Plan and URx pharmacy benefits 

 Providing referrals and information about wellness programs and other no cost 
resources 

 Helping you get cost effective durable medical equipment and supplies 

Employee Assistance Resources (EAR)  
“If you have a concern, we have an EAR.”   
Julaine Beatty- Behavioral Health and Employee Assistance Program Manager 
406-444-2528  jbeatty@mt.gov 

Resources for employees: 

 Understanding EAP mental health benefit 
 Locating specific mental health service providers 
 Navigating state benefits to meet individual needs 
 Conflict resolution in the workplace 
Resources for managers: 

 Consultation and assistance with workplace communication 
 Partner with Human Resources to resolve employee issues 
 Assistance in setting up S.M.A.R.T. goals for yourself and/ or 

your department. (S.M.A.R.T.= Specific, measurable, 
achievable, relevant, and time-based.) 

Live Life Well Continued 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/wellness.live.life.well.html
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Workers’ Compensation Management Bureau 

Program Description 
The Workers’ Compensation Management Bureau develops programs to enhance the safety of work environments, assist 
State of Montana injured workers in their healing process, and make sure that all injured State of Montana employees are 
returned to work as soon as medically appropriate following work-related injuries or occupational diseases. 
 

Who Is Eligible? 
All active State of Montana employees are eligible for these programs.   

Safety 
Working Safely—Getting Started 
The first step toward keeping yourself and others injury-free is awareness of safety tools available.   
1. Be aware of your environment and head off problems before an injury occurs.  Participate in safety training and 

programs when available to learn how to keep yourself, your work environment, and your coworkers safe. 
2. Use proper safety equipment and follow recommended safety instructions.  Get the right equipment for the job to 

avoid injury (that includes office work—repetitive motion injuries are a significant portion of our work-related injuries 
and occupational diseases). 

3. Take safety seriously.  A moment of distraction or carelessness is all it takes to cause a lifetime of disability.  
4. Take responsibility for keeping yourself and others safe.   
 

Did you know that a recent disability guideline study found workplace injuries increase where there are other health 
conditions such as obesity and diabetes?  Wellness programs focus on prevention, and preventing injuries from 
happening in the first place is always best! 
 

Safety Resources 
Safety is an integral part of the Workers’ Compensation Management programs for State of Montana employees.  
Department of Administration, Department of Labor, and Montana State Fund are cooperating to make sure workers have 
access to safety management services to reduce the number of work-related injuries and occupational diseases.   

Return to Work 
Reporting an Injury 
Work-related injuries and occupational diseases must be reported to our workers’ compensation insurance carrier, the 
Montana State Fund, within 24 hours.  The employee and supervisor fill out and send in the First Report of Injury (FROI).  
Report occupational diseases as quickly as possible.  The FROI link can be found online at http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/
wcmb.html.  
 

If you have any questions about filing a claim, contact your Human Resources staff for assistance.   
 

Fraud Finders  
What is fraud?  It is more than an employee faking an injury.  It includes medical providers billing excessive or 
uncompleted medical services or employers falsifying payroll records to lower premiums.  When fraud occurs, it costs all 
of us, and it is AGAINST THE LAW!    
 

To report suspicious activity, you can fill out Montana State Fund’s online reporting form or call their Fraud Hotline:  
888-MTCRIME (888-682-7463).  All contacts will remain strictly confidential. 

For more information, contact: 
Lance Zanto, Bureau Chief (406) 444-5689 
Stephanie Grover, Safety and Loss Control (406) 444-0122 
Matthew Chambers, Return to Work (406) 444-7016 
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/wcmb.html 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/wcmb.html
http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/wcmb.html
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Glossary 

Allowable Charges—Charges that are both: a. For services covered by the Plan, in which you are enrolled, and  
b. Within the allowable fee established by the Plan Administrator. 

Balance Billing—The amount over the plan’s allowable fee that may be billed to the member by an out-of-network provider  

Benefits Payment/Contribution— The amount an employee, retiree, or legislator contributes out-of-pocket to participate or for their 
dependent(s) to participate in a benefit plan 

Certification/Pre-certification—Certification is a determination by the plan administrator that a hospital inpatient stay meets medical 
necessity criteria for inpatient benefits.  Additionally, a determination that the inpatient hospital stay also meets (or fails to meet) the 
criteria for the in-network level of benefits. Pre-certification is certification in advance of a non-emergency admission. 

Coinsurance—Coinsurance is a means of cost sharing. The Plan pays a percentage of allowed charges (after any applicable deductible 
has been met) and the member pays a percentage - the coinsurance.  

Copayment—Copayment, like coinsurance, is also a type of cost sharing. You pay a fixed dollar amount, the copayment, for a covered 
service and the Plan pays remaining allowable charges. 

Deductible—Allowed charges a member and family must pay before a medical plan makes payment.  The deductible applies to the Plan 
Year, regardless of hire date. 

In-Network Provider—A covered health care provider who has (or group of providers who have) contractually agreed to provide medical 
services to members of a health plan according to the fees and other terms of a plan contract. Benefits for services provided in-network 
(by an in-network provider) are typically higher level benefits (the in-network level of benefits) than benefits for services out-of-network 
(by another provider). 

Joint Core—An option that is available when both spouses are eligible state employees and have eligible dependents on their coverage.  
Spouses and children have only one family deductible and one family out-of-pocket maximum, and they may have a slightly lower 
benefits payment than enrolling separately. 

Out-of-Network Provider—Any covered provider who is not an in-network provider designated by the plan administrator. Out-of-network 
providers include providers who are participating only to the extent that they accept a plan’s allowable fees, but who have not agreed to 
other terms of a network contract. 

Out-of-Pocket Maximum—The maximum amount of any coinsurance which is credited toward a plan’s out-of-pocket maximum that you 
must pay in a benefit year for:  
a. An individual member (the individual out-of-pocket maximum); or  
b. Enrolled family members (the family out-of-pocket maximum).  
Once a member meets the plan’s individual out-of-pocket maximum, no more coinsurance which is credited toward the out-of-pocket 
maximum must be made for that member for the remainder of the benefit year. Once an enrolled family has met the plan’s family out-of-
pocket maximum, no more coinsurance which is credited toward the out-of-pocket maximum, must be made for any enrolled family 
member for the remainder of the benefit year. 

Participating Provider—A provider who has agreed to accept allowable charges as payment in full and not bill State Plan members 
extra amounts. Lists of in-network providers for the medical and dental plans, as well as participating pharmacy providers for the 
prescription drug plan, are available at the website of the plan administrator or by calling the customer service number on the 
identification card for the plan. 

Plan Year—The period starting January 1 and ending December 31 of each year 

Prior Authorization—A process to inform you whether a proposed service, medication, supply, or ongoing treatment meets the following 
criteria for coverage by your selected medical, prescription drug, or dental plans:  
a. Is medically necessary;  
b. Complies with applicable medical policy;  
c. Is a benefit of the plan; and  
d. In the case of prior authorization, whether it meets criteria for the in-network level of benefits.  
See the Summary Plan Document for more information on obtaining a prior authorization.  

Specialty drugs—Specialty drugs usually require special handling, administration, unique inventory management, a high level of patient 
monitoring and more intense support than conventional therapies.  They could include all routes of administration (self-injectable, oral, or 
infused). 

For complete details about the Plan, refer to the Summary Plan 
Document (SPD) available on the website www.benefits.mt.gov under 

Forms/Publications 

http://benefits.mt.gov/pages/forms.publications.html


Contact Information 

 
Health Care & Benefits 

Division 

Phone: (800) 287-8266, (406) 444-7462;  
Hearing impaired TTY (406) 444-1421 
Email: benefitsquestions@mt.gov 
Web: www.benefits.mt.gov 
Mail: 100 N Park Ave Suite 320 
PO Box 200130 
Helena, MT 59620-0130 

 Montana Health Centers 

Live support for ALL MT Health Centers: 
Phone: (855) 200-6822 
Email: help.montana@carehere.com 
Web: Make an appointment www.carehere.com  
Code: MANA9 
See P.18 for local addresses and hours of operation. 

 

Cigna Medical Plans, 
Customer Service, and 

Claims Processing 
Questions 

 
Vision Hardware Plan 

Phone: (855) 692-0131 
Email: stateofmontana@cigna.com 
Web: www.mycigna.com    
          www.cigna.com 
 
Vision Hardware Plan: 
Phone: (877) 478-7557 
Email: stateofmontana@cigna.com 
Web: https://cigna.vsp.com 

 URx Customer Service 

Phone: (888) 648-6764 
Email: askurx@mt.gov 

Web: www.mp.medimpact.com/mtn  

          www.benefits.mt.gov/pages/urx.html 

 
Mail Order and Specialty 

Pharmacy 

Mail Order Prescription Drugs: 

MedVantx  (877) 870-MONT (6668)    

Ridgeway Pharmacy  (800) 630-3214 

Specialty Meds 

Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy (877) 319-6337 

 
Delta Benefits Customer 

Service and Claims 
Processing Questions 

Phone: (866) 496-2370 

Web: www.deltadentalins.com/stateofmontana 

 

Flexible Spending 
Accounts—Account Status, 
Claims, Eligible Expenses, 

and IRS Rules 

Phone: (866) 339-4310 
FAX: (406) 523-3149 or (877) 424-3539 
Web: www.allegianceflexadvantage.com 

 
Life and Long Term 
Disability Insurance 

For questions about benefits, claims, status of 
application: 
Phone: (800) 759-8702  
Web: www.standard.com 
 
For all other questions call HCBD: (800) 287-8266 
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